Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 1, 2013

JOSH LEDERMAN: What's behind all the budget bombast?

Both parties work hard to deflect blame

Even for a town accus-tomed to hyperbole, the political sparring over spending, borrowing and health care has produced more than its share of over-the-top rhetoric.

Yes, most people may tune it out. But it’s a good bet the nastiness won’t make it any easier for the two sides to come together on critical issues.

Consider the words used by Rep. Michele Bachmann, R-Minn., when she suggested what could happen if Republicans didn’t overturn “Obamacare,” President Barack Obama’s health care law.

”Let’s repeal this failure before it literally kills women, kills children, kills senior citizens,” Bachmann said.

Republican opponents of the law claim it will drive up costs, making it harder for people to access health care. Obama and other Democrats disagree.

There’s nothing in the law that would require the government to kill its citizens.

”The purpose is to get attention, to bring my issue to the forefront and position it in the mind of the public,” said Craig Smith, a presidential speechwriter in the administrations of Presidents Gerald Ford and George H.W. Bush. “What you risk down the road, when the fire has gone out, is people looking back and saying, ‘That guy was a little bit crazy. I’m sorry I fell for it.’”

GOP efforts to strip money for the law have been at the heart of disagreements over how to fund the government before a threatened shutdown kicks in today. Lawmakers are also bickering over behavior as Congress and Obama wrestle over increasing the debt ceiling to avert a first-ever default.

The White House has accused Republicans of holding the budget hostage, demanding ransoms and threatening to burn down the house unless they get what they want.

Former Vice President Al Gore on Friday accused Republicans of “political terrorism.” House Democratic leader Nancy Pelosi of California has called her GOP colleagues “legislative arsonists” in a fundraising email and TV interviews.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll