Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 1, 2013

Oct. 1, 2013: Letters to the editor

Obamacare: Game changer for Hoosiers

Oct. 1 is a banner day for many of our Hoosier neighbors, who will for the first time have access to adequate health insurance for themselves and their families.

The Affordable Care Act — Obamacare — marketplace is open for business, and individuals can shop for coverage, with the support of income-based credits and subsidies, that will start on Jan. 1, 2014.

The ACA continues to be hotly debated and much maligned, but beyond the rhetoric it represents life-changing and life-saving access to health care. Far too many of our neighbors have lived far too long without health insurance, knowing that preventive care was out of reach and emergency or critical care would result in economic devastation.

This reality creates a daily stress that is hard to comprehend for those who have not lived it.

The ACA also narrows the ranks of the underinsured by requiring health insurance to cover preventive and essential medical care, a new reality that will improve the health and well-being of our communities.

Obamacare is not perfect — no law or program, public or private, is — but it is a game changer for the health and well-being of Hoosiers, and that is worth celebrating and sharing.

Join me in learning more and connecting those who will benefit from the new options available to them, thanks to its implementation. Information and navigation support is available at www.healthcare.gov. A healthier future for Hoosiers has arrived.

Rylin Rodgers

Family Voices Indiana

David, Nan Braun: ‘Great local talent’

During the dedication ceremony for the Stephen J. Daily Government Center, I made a mistake (which, by the way, happens more than I would like to admit).

Even though it was written in my notes, I accidentally neglected to acknowledge the local artists, David and Nan Braun, who designed and built the fountain centerpiece for the public entrance to the Daily Center.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll