Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 3, 2013

MARK BENNETT: Remotely confused by television

Programming more complicated than in the 1990s.

Where have you gone “Must See TV”?

The question isn’t an indictment of the quality of 21st-century television shows. It’s merely a question my mind ponders each time I pick up the remote and search for a program I recognize. The same puzzled sensation also hits me when someone raves about a show they watch online.

Entertainment viewing nowadays is like walking into a buffet. In those restaurants, I’ll either wear myself out, trying to sample every item at every food station (even those circles of unidentified deep-fried somethings) or stick to the old standbys — roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, a salad and apple pie. Either way, a smorgasbord of choices completely disconnects my brain’s responsible-eating lobe.

Last week, the networks rolled out their new fall lineups, and the Primetime Emmy Awards were distributed.

News from the two converging events left me staring at my viewing plate, wondering where those “Must See” Thursday nights on NBC have gone. The ’80s roster featured “The Cosby Show,” “Family Ties,” “Cheers,” “Night Court” and “Hill Street Blues.” By the ’90s, “Seinfeld,” “Frasier,” “Friends” and “ER” moved in.

We knew exactly where and when to find Jerry, George, Elaine and Kramer.

As I glanced through the list of last week’s Emmy winners for the best dramas and comedies, as well as the nominees, I realized I’d only seen two of the 12 shows, and neither took the top prize. Loyal viewers locate those programs on a, well, smorgasbord of “platforms,” including cable and network channels — AMC, PBS, Showtime, HBO, CBS, ABC, FX and NBC, as well as on Netflix via the Internet. The latter platform produced “House of Cards,” a Best Drama Series nominee and the first Web-based show to receive such an honor. Winners and nominees in other categories came from those outlets, as well as A&E, USA, The History Channel, Sundance Channel and Lifetime.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll