Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 7, 2013

BRIAN HOWEY: A new level of public service for Hoosiers

Indiana politicians stoop to disgusting, new low.

You know, I really hate the speed limit on Interstate 65, so instead of going 70 mph, I plan to go 95 mph.

And if Mr. Trooper, Sir, stops me, I think I’ll get some of my friends and we’ll block all the lanes and shoulders until they raise the speed limit.

There were two profoundly intertwined stories last week — the shutdown of the federal government and the launching of Obamacare.

In Washington, the Republican hatred of the Affordable Care Act has become so intense lawmakers like Sen. Ted Cruz of Texas and Rep. Marlin Stutzman of Indiana were willing to put this nation on the path of a shutdown and default.

The reason can be summed up on the Real Clear Politics website, which lists 243 polls taken on Obamacare since its passage and 95 percent of those polls (231 of 243) have shown the American people oppose the ACA.

But it’s more nuanced than that. Ball State’s Bowen Center and other polls have broken out components of the ACA — such as whether people with pre-existing conditions should be able to get health insurance — and the support rises, often into the 60th percentile and beyond.

The two polls that really mattered occurred in November 2010 and November 2012, when citizens went to the ballot box. In 2010, Republicans retook the House, picking up 66 seats. Two years later, President Obama was re-elected and with that, Obamacare was pretty much a reality until Jan. 21, 2017.

Reinforcing this was what happened in the U.S. Senate. Populist tea party candidates who won U.S. Senate nominations in low-turnout primaries essentially propelled safe or heavily leaning Republican seats in Indiana, Delaware, Colorado, Missouri, Nevada and Maine into the Democratic column. What could have easily been a 51-49 Republican Senate majority last November became a 55-45 Democratic one. Joe Donnelly, who voted for the ACA, is now Indiana’s Democratic senator.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll