Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 8, 2013

TOM LoBIANCO: Federal shutdown raises Ind. brush with closure

Federal shutdown raises Indiana brush with closure in 1993.

After spending years walking up to the brink of a shutdown, the federal government finally shuttered over the ongoing health care budget battle.

Federal workers have been furloughed. Passport applications and tax help are on hold. And federal services that often go overlooked, from NASA research to high-profile national parks operations, have become the centerpieces of floor speeches from the U.S. House and Senate.

Even in Indiana, state government has been pulled into dealing with the shutdown. The state Department of Workforce Development issued guidelines last week for federal employees seeking unemployment assistance.

But states largely have escaped the fray, and many leaders have gone out of their way to emphasize state governments pass budgets and get their work done.

That’s not to say it hasn’t been a close call at times.

Through the early 1990s, then-Democratic Gov. Evan Bayh’s budget battles with lawmakers occasionally sparked talk of a possible state government shutdown. In 1993, Bayh called lawmakers back for a special session to pass the budget.

Services that usually operate smoothly with little attention, from state parks to social welfare assistance, were suddenly pulled into the debate. While the special session dragged on through June 1993, then-Auditor Ann Devore made the case that services would end if lawmakers and the governor couldn’t reach an agreement.

“The purpose of state government is to provide services to its citizens,” she said at the time. “As of July 1, 1993, the purpose of this state government may cease to exist.”

The shutdown didn’t happen, and lawmakers have generally passed a budget within their allotted budget-writing sessions every two years since.

But Washington-style partisan gridlock has crept into the Indiana Statehouse in recent years. House Democrats led a five-week walkout in 2011 over a package of education bills and right-to-work legislation. They followed again in 2012 with periodic boycotts of the House floor that stalled passage of the right-to-work ban on union fees for a few weeks.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll