Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 11, 2013

JEFFREY McCALL: Gov't shouldn't decide who is a journalist

Shield bill smacks of press exceptionalism.

(Continued)

Senate authors of the bill ignore this new reality, giving shield protections largely to reporters who are employed in traditional media circles. Sen. Diane Feinstein of California defended this definitional limitation by saying, “I believe it [the shield bill] should be applied to real reporters.” Not covered, according to Feinstein, would be “a 17-year-old who drops out of high school … and starts a blog.”

The Senate bill extends shield protection even to former journalists who were employed as reporters for at least one year in the last 20. Thus, disgraced news fabricator and plagiarist Jayson Blair would be protected from revealing his fake sources. Feinstein’s 17-year-old blogger, with friends or relatives in city hall, would not be able to protect them from retribution should they leak info for his blog.

The Senate is too hung up on defining who is a journalist and not focused enough on the watchdog function of journalism, which today could be served by any citizen. If the Senate’s objective is to promote the flow of information, then protect that function, regardless of who serves it.

The Supreme Court weighed in on reporter privilege more than 40 years ago in the Branzburg decision, ruling that reporters had no constitutional right to withhold sources in court. Thus, a reporter is the same as a mechanic in the eyes of the Constitution.

Also of interest is a 2011 First Circuit ruling that dealt with a private citizen who videotaped a police action. That court said the right to gather information is “not one that inures solely to the benefit of the news media.” The court noted that changes in technology “have made the lines between private citizen and journalist exceedingly difficult to draw.” The court wrote that news stories could be broken by bloggers just as easily today as by newspaper reporters, and it concluded that “the news-gathering protections of the First Amendment cannot turn on professional credentials or status.”

Given these court decisions, the Senate’s work to define who is a journalist might ultimately be a fool’s errand. The Senate should protect the function and process of journalism, and stop separating out journalists for special treatment.

Jeffrey M. McCall is a professor of communication at DePauw University in Greencastle. Contact him at jeffmccall@depauw.edu.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll