Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 13, 2013

ED VASICEK: Environmentally, U.S. has come a long way

What is normal now was once extreme

When I was very young, I remember my parents flinging refuse out the car window as we traveled the long roads to “vacation,” wherever that might be. This was the norm. I remember the change a few years later when the authorities posted signs informing us that littering was illegal and warning about fines. My parents immediately changed their habits, as did most other Americans.

The change most Americans have made during my lifetime regarding the environment has come in stages, but it is a large change. The average American in 2013 would have been considered “an environmental extremist” back in 1960. Most of us who have been around awhile have changed our attitude, probably without knowing it.

Back in 1960 (the first year I can remember), municipalities offered “garbage dumps,” where one could throw away just about anything, no matter how toxic. We were insulating homes with asbestos, and you could carve your initials in the trees. Even at the zoo, you could throw marshmallows or peanuts to the animals.

Factories were dumping untreated water with mercury and a host of toxic pollutants into our creeks and rivers. One of the Great Lakes was declared “dead.” Air pollution left houses near steel factories covered with dust rust; who knows how our lungs looked?

Cigarette smoking was omnipresent, and the rest of us dared not complain. We sprayed our gardens with DDT while the old-timers spoke of a time when one could see a variety of birds, not just sparrows, robins and pigeons. Nearly everyone cooked with margarine, and the pipes that carried in fresh water were made of lead.

The recent Kokomo Tribune article about the city taking hold of the former quarry on the east side of South Washington Street (just south of the Wildcat Creek) got me thinking. As a frequent patron of the former Southside Lumber Co., I often wondered why the adjacent property was fenced off. The Tribune article explained that Cabot Corp. had dumped toxic barrels and mildly radioactive machine parts on that site, as late as 1970.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership' On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than

    April 16, 2014

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll