Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 13, 2013

Oct. 13, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

Larry Wise

Kokomo

Wind farms are only focus of Tipton CRD

There have been many rumors about who and what the Tipton County Citizens for Responsible Development (CRD) is. We would like to dispel those rumors by communicating the origin and mission of the CRD.

The CRD was formed in the beginning of 2013 in order to organize a community effort to voice the concerns of Tipton County citizens of the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm.

Early on, the CRD recognized an alarming amount of residents living within the Wildcat I Wind Farm were looking for help and a voice to express their concerns. With this scope in mind, we developed our mission statement:

“Focused on ensuring that wind development in Tipton County, Indiana, is done without harm to homeowners and supports the interests of homeowners living with existing wind farms.”

The CRD board takes this mission very seriously. We will not be involved in any matters outside of this mission statement. The board is made up of a diverse group of Tipton County citizens who have differing opinions on other issues, but the common issue of concern for the CRD is the wind issue. This is also true for our supporters. While we have a common issue of wind turbine development, our supporters have concerns outside of the CRD mission statement. The CRD board would like to reiterate that it will not be involved in any of these other matters.

The CRD speaks as a board only when the subject matter pertains to wind. All board communications are done via press release, CRD website and when an authorized person identified below clearly states that they are communicating on behalf of the CRD board.

In order to end any confusion as to who is on the board of the CRD, our names are listed below. If anyone should have any questions pertaining to the CRD, any member of the board can be contacted.

We are: Jeff Hoover, Paige Hoover, Jeff Thomas, Kirsten Leonard, Michele McNabb, Chris Rossi, John West, Juanita Thomas, Mark Lynn, Imran Malik, Julie Rossi, Emily West, Brian Key, Eric Juliot and Beth Juliot.

Emily West

Sharpsville

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll