Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 14, 2013

BRIAN HOWEY: Hoosier Republican members on a potential default

Todd Rokita was open to one in 2011

The Obama-care health exchanges got off to a disastrous start last week, plagued by systemic computer glitches. But the focus of the nation was fixated on a congressionally induced government shutdown and a potential default that could dwarf the Lehman Brothers collapse of 2008.

By Wednesday, the magnitude of this epic congressional feint was an Associated Press/gfk Poll that showed approval for the body at 5 percent, putting Congress in the company of drug dealers and Kim Jung Un. The poll revealed 62 percent blamed Republicans. Gallup measured support for the Republican Party at a historic low — 28 percent — compared to a less miserable 43 percent for Democrats.

Capitol Hill sources tell me that among the eight Hoosier Republicans, a handful actually entertained a federal default.

When I sought positions from the Republican delegation, Rep. Todd Young came out emphatically against a default, while Reps. Marlin Stutzman, Susan Brooks, Larry Bucshon and Luke Messer took positions theoretically against a default, but couched the situation by urging President Obama and congressional Democrats to come to the table to negotiate, something the president said he wouldn’t do until the government reopened.

Missing in response was Rep. Todd Rokita, who in 2011 was open to a default.

Young, the Bloomington Republican who sits on the House Ways & Means Committee, has been speaking out against a federal default since 2011 and indicated he opposes anything that would prevent raising the debt ceiling, which is set to expire Oct. 17. But the closer that day comes, the more risk there is to a credit downgrade. In 2011, that downgrade actually came before the debt limit deadline.

Addressing the House on May 9, Young pushed the Full Faith & Credit Act, which he said, “Would make default impossible.” He acknowledged this is the third time since he joined the House in January 2011 he has faced a debt ceiling showdown.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll