Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 14, 2013

BRIAN HOWEY: Hoosier Republican members on a potential default

Todd Rokita was open to one in 2011

The Obama-care health exchanges got off to a disastrous start last week, plagued by systemic computer glitches. But the focus of the nation was fixated on a congressionally induced government shutdown and a potential default that could dwarf the Lehman Brothers collapse of 2008.

By Wednesday, the magnitude of this epic congressional feint was an Associated Press/gfk Poll that showed approval for the body at 5 percent, putting Congress in the company of drug dealers and Kim Jung Un. The poll revealed 62 percent blamed Republicans. Gallup measured support for the Republican Party at a historic low — 28 percent — compared to a less miserable 43 percent for Democrats.

Capitol Hill sources tell me that among the eight Hoosier Republicans, a handful actually entertained a federal default.

When I sought positions from the Republican delegation, Rep. Todd Young came out emphatically against a default, while Reps. Marlin Stutzman, Susan Brooks, Larry Bucshon and Luke Messer took positions theoretically against a default, but couched the situation by urging President Obama and congressional Democrats to come to the table to negotiate, something the president said he wouldn’t do until the government reopened.

Missing in response was Rep. Todd Rokita, who in 2011 was open to a default.

Young, the Bloomington Republican who sits on the House Ways & Means Committee, has been speaking out against a federal default since 2011 and indicated he opposes anything that would prevent raising the debt ceiling, which is set to expire Oct. 17. But the closer that day comes, the more risk there is to a credit downgrade. In 2011, that downgrade actually came before the debt limit deadline.

Addressing the House on May 9, Young pushed the Full Faith & Credit Act, which he said, “Would make default impossible.” He acknowledged this is the third time since he joined the House in January 2011 he has faced a debt ceiling showdown.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll