Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 14, 2013

Oct. 14, 2013: Letters to the editor

Company had hand in making hardware

I read with much interest Ed Vasicek’s weekly column in the Oct. 6 Kokomo Tribune, “Hospital or hardware store”.

Sorry to say we have not met or conversed on the above subject, but his analogy is somewhat true.

Let me tell you of my personal experience. We at Tate Model & Engineering Inc., here in Kokomo, had the pleasure of being one of the first to work with the orthopedic industry in design and making of many of the present orthopedic prosthesis used today.

In the 1960s, I was presented with a human tibia and femur and asked if I could duplicate the knee joint. My experience as a master model maker and engineer caused me to view the specimen carefully for a few minutes, then I said, “I don’t know. God made that one, but I will do the best I can.” We agreed to a cost, and I proceeded with the project of making the first successful orthopedic prosthesis for the knee joint for one of the companies in Warsaw, Ind.

This company at that time had just five or six engineers in its employment. Since that time, this company has grown multiple times into one of the largest in the orthopedic industry. I am proud to say this replacement knee joint had a big part in the growth of the orthopedic industry. I have had the pleasure of working with several of the orthopedic companies, seeing some grow from a small, garage-size business to a worldwide, multibillion-dollar business.

This original knee is still being manufactured today and has been very successful. In fact, my wife still has two (one in each leg) since 1999.

Because of this knee joint I had the pleasure of working with many other orthopedic companies, helping them develop many other replacement implants for hips, fingers, ankles, toes, etc. We at Tate Model & Engineering were involved in the making of prototypes for surgical clinical trials for many of the orthopedic industry.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Chewing over news in bite-size vignettes Today, I am going to share a few "opinionettes" about current news items. Ready? Let's go! City prosperity The unemployment rate in the United States is down to 6.7 percent. This is its lowest level since October 2008. When I remember government effo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll