Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 22, 2013

Oct. 22, 2013: Letters to the editor

This is dedicatedto Lowman Pauling

Ellise Maye Pauling passed away recently in Winston-Salem, N.C., at age 82. She was the widow of Lowman Pauling, a little known rock ā€˜nā€™ roll pioneer, visionary guitarist and songwriter who produced music that cut across every musical category, from gospel to doo-wop, jump blues, rhythm and blues, and soul.

Lowman Pauling was born in South Carolina on July 14, 1926. When his parents split up, he and younger brother Clarence lived with their dad in a Bluefield, W.Va., coal camp. There he heard all kinds of music: country, Vaudeville tunes, gospel and blues. Jazz performers Ella Fitzgerald, Jimmy Lunceford and Count Basie used to play there.

Lowman built a guitar of sorts out of a cigar box and strings, and learned to play. With Clarence he put together a musical act to play in school talent shows, and in one of these they won an indoor toilet, a first for their school. When they were a little older, they moved to Winston-Salem to live with their mother.

They put together a gospel group and sang in churches; there, also, Lowman met Ellise Maye, and they were married in 1951.

The band added other members and became The Royal Sons Quartet. Then they became just The 5 Royales. By 1953, songs penned by Lowman Pauling began to appear on the R&B charts, and the band hit the road with non-stop touring.

They played places like the Apollo Theatre in Harlem, and got to know performers like Little Richard, Sam Cooke and James Brown. With his Gibson Les Paul hanging down at his knees, Pauling played blasts of distorted notes and riffs, and even played with his feet. Guitarist Steve Cropper, as well as performers Aretha Franklin and Ray Charles, were influenced by his progressive music.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll