Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 22, 2013

Oct. 22, 2013: Letters to the editor

This is dedicatedto Lowman Pauling

Ellise Maye Pauling passed away recently in Winston-Salem, N.C., at age 82. She was the widow of Lowman Pauling, a little known rock ‘n’ roll pioneer, visionary guitarist and songwriter who produced music that cut across every musical category, from gospel to doo-wop, jump blues, rhythm and blues, and soul.

Lowman Pauling was born in South Carolina on July 14, 1926. When his parents split up, he and younger brother Clarence lived with their dad in a Bluefield, W.Va., coal camp. There he heard all kinds of music: country, Vaudeville tunes, gospel and blues. Jazz performers Ella Fitzgerald, Jimmy Lunceford and Count Basie used to play there.

Lowman built a guitar of sorts out of a cigar box and strings, and learned to play. With Clarence he put together a musical act to play in school talent shows, and in one of these they won an indoor toilet, a first for their school. When they were a little older, they moved to Winston-Salem to live with their mother.

They put together a gospel group and sang in churches; there, also, Lowman met Ellise Maye, and they were married in 1951.

The band added other members and became The Royal Sons Quartet. Then they became just The 5 Royales. By 1953, songs penned by Lowman Pauling began to appear on the R&B charts, and the band hit the road with non-stop touring.

They played places like the Apollo Theatre in Harlem, and got to know performers like Little Richard, Sam Cooke and James Brown. With his Gibson Les Paul hanging down at his knees, Pauling played blasts of distorted notes and riffs, and even played with his feet. Guitarist Steve Cropper, as well as performers Aretha Franklin and Ray Charles, were influenced by his progressive music.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll