Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 26, 2013

Oct. 26, 2013: Cheers & jeers

A thank-you to Kokomo

Erin Larison, Highway Half Marathon & 5K race committee member, sends this Cheer to the community:

“I am writing on behalf of the Kokomo Family YMCA and Highway Half Marathon & 5K race committee to extend a genuine thank-you to the sponsors, supporters and volunteers who made possible the largest foot race ever held in Kokomo.

“Nearly 1,300 people of all ages gathered on Oct. 12 to take part in the Highway Half Marathon and 5K, a historic race sponsored by the Kokomo Family YMCA and the United Way of Howard County on the site of the new U.S. 31 expressway. Hundreds of these runners and walkers marked this as their very first race, and we hope it will be the first of many!

“The Y wants to thank our major sponsors, U.S. 31 Coalition, Kokomo Sports Authority, the Kokomo Tribune, Hoosier AM/FM, Web Success Agency, Martin Marietta, HIS Construction and Goodfellows; along with our fantastic supporters, McGonical Buick GMC Cadillac, Morning Star Church, INDOT, Community First Bank, Sunspot Natural Foods, Gingerbread House, Clifford Signs, Expressions, Ben’s Soft Pretzels, Farlow’s Orchard, Ivy Tech, Indiana University Kokomo Cross Country, Kokomo High School Cross Country, Boy Scout Troop 508, Blush, Coca-Cola, Howard County EMA, Price Auto, St. Joseph Hospital, Community Howard Regional Health, First Church of God, Temple Baptist Church and Bridges Outreach.

“We are so grateful for the scores of volunteers on race day and in the weeks leading up to the event. Finally, I’d like give a big Cheer to the rest of the race committee, Mike Campbell, Kim Lafollette, Charlie Skoog, Terry Townsend and Rebekah Monroe, who have worked tirelessly for the last year to make this event come to life. Together, we are all creating a healthier Kokomo!”

4 voted to ban wind farms

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll