Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 29, 2013

Emails make waves

Governor right to order ethics investigation.

The latest scandal involving state government carries a distinct flavor of west-central Indiana.

In case you missed it, Bruce Walkup has resigned from his position as a member of Ivy Tech’s board of trustees after a story in last Sunday’s Indianapolis Star exposed off-color, crass and vulgar emails he sent repeatedly to Ivy Tech administrators and state officials.

The emails, obtained by the Star through a public records request, also indicated that Walkup may have received preferential treatment on a duck hunting request at the Goose Pond recreation area in Greene County from Rob Carter, who until recently was the director of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources. The story also disclosed email exchanges between Carter and Walkup in which Walkup stated that Carter would be the next security director for Ivy Tech, even though that position would not come open for several months. Carter was eventually chosen for the job.

In addition to Walkup resigning his board post (after Gov. Mike Pence last Monday suggested strongly that he was considering his options in dealing with the matter), the governor also asked Inspector General David Thomas to investigate any potential ethics breaches concerning the hunting trip and Carter’s hiring.

So what’s the west-central Indiana connection?

Walkup is best known statewide as a former IndyCar driver, but is also a longtime Sullivan businessman.

Given Walkup’s email behavior, Gov. Pence was right to react swiftly in condemning the conduct and indicating official action against Walkup was at least under review. What’s more, Walkup’s decision to resign from the board after serving for 13 years was the only appropriate action he could take.

We also agree with the governor’s decision to order an ethics investigation. But there is one more step to be considered. Carter and Thomas, both Republicans, served at the same time in Clay County as sheriff and prosecutor.

We do not suggest the men’s Clay County affiliations would taint the process. But to ensure the ethics investigation itself does not carry an appearance of conflict, we suggest that Thomas not be involved in the probe.

— Tribune-Star, Terre Haute

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll