Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 29, 2013

Emails make waves

Governor right to order ethics investigation.

The latest scandal involving state government carries a distinct flavor of west-central Indiana.

In case you missed it, Bruce Walkup has resigned from his position as a member of Ivy Tech’s board of trustees after a story in last Sunday’s Indianapolis Star exposed off-color, crass and vulgar emails he sent repeatedly to Ivy Tech administrators and state officials.

The emails, obtained by the Star through a public records request, also indicated that Walkup may have received preferential treatment on a duck hunting request at the Goose Pond recreation area in Greene County from Rob Carter, who until recently was the director of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources. The story also disclosed email exchanges between Carter and Walkup in which Walkup stated that Carter would be the next security director for Ivy Tech, even though that position would not come open for several months. Carter was eventually chosen for the job.

In addition to Walkup resigning his board post (after Gov. Mike Pence last Monday suggested strongly that he was considering his options in dealing with the matter), the governor also asked Inspector General David Thomas to investigate any potential ethics breaches concerning the hunting trip and Carter’s hiring.

So what’s the west-central Indiana connection?

Walkup is best known statewide as a former IndyCar driver, but is also a longtime Sullivan businessman.

Given Walkup’s email behavior, Gov. Pence was right to react swiftly in condemning the conduct and indicating official action against Walkup was at least under review. What’s more, Walkup’s decision to resign from the board after serving for 13 years was the only appropriate action he could take.

We also agree with the governor’s decision to order an ethics investigation. But there is one more step to be considered. Carter and Thomas, both Republicans, served at the same time in Clay County as sheriff and prosecutor.

We do not suggest the men’s Clay County affiliations would taint the process. But to ensure the ethics investigation itself does not carry an appearance of conflict, we suggest that Thomas not be involved in the probe.

— Tribune-Star, Terre Haute

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll