Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 30, 2013

Oct. 30, 2013: Letters to the editor

Seeking marriage clarity from editors

I am writing for clarification from the Kokomo Tribune editorial board, whose recent piece, “Amendment isn’t needed,” encouraged Indiana lawmakers to deny the people of Indiana their right to determine the constitutionality of un-defining marriage in the state.

The KT editors, one of whom has previously written that upholding marriage laws in Indiana is “codifying inequality,” write that, “Indiana law already bans same sex marriage … there is no need for a constitutional amendment.” Are the KT editors unaware that states like California, Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts and New Jersey had similar laws before activist state courts struck them down as “unconstitutional”?

The whole purpose of the Indiana Marriage Amendment is to prevent gay activists from using Indiana courts to do the same. The KT editors pretend they don’t know that.

Secondly, the KT editors throw out the classic gay activist red herring of citing companies like Eli Lilly and Cummins Engine — both of whom have boards of directors dominated by radical, anti-family activists — who falsely suggest that a marriage amendment would hurt the business climate in the state. Kiplinger Financial Magazine reports that the top five states for job growth all have marriage protection amendments. Forbes Magazine reveals that 9 out of the top 10 large cities in America for job growth come from states with marriage protection amendments. The KT editors pretend they don’t know that.

Finally, the KT editors claim they simply want to call a truce on the issue. I’m calling their bluff. A truce must go both ways.

So will the KT editors write a similar editorial that tells homosexual activists to cease any and all court challenges to Indiana’s law regarding same sex marriage? Will they demand that homosexual activists respect marriage in the state and not seek to change it by judicial fiat? If not, readers should be aware the KT editors are deceiving them.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll