Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 5, 2013

Nov. 5, 2013: Letters to the editor

Civil marriage must be an option for all

With regard to the issue of gay marriage, there is a different point of view.

I am the mother of six children. Two of them are gay. I have a gay son, who has just married his partner in California. I have a lesbian daughter, who has been with her partner for 29 years. They have had a civil union in Vermont, a domestic partnership in New Jersey, and a wedding in Canada.

When I learned I had gay children, I was traumatized. Nothing had prepared me for this eventuality. As a fundamentalist Christian, I had a lot of work to do.

After years of struggle, prayer, agonizing and deep study, I finally recognized that gay people do not choose their sexual orientation. They are God’s creation as surely as any other human being.

Once I embraced that truth, I became a gay rights activist.

I volunteered as a buddy with the AIDS project in Worcester, Mass., for six years. All three of my patients died.

I was appointed to Gov. William Weld’s Commission for Gay and Lesbian Youth. This commission was formed for the expressed purpose of reducing the number of gay young people committing suicide. The suicide rate among gay teenagers is staggering.

I spent 10 years with the group Soulforce, confronting churches about their policies on gay people. During that time several churches have changed their position on this issue. Presbyterians, Episcopalians, Disciples of Christ and others now ordain gay people to positions of leadership and to the ministry.

Yet, when I talked to pastors in Kokomo, I found it very difficult to find a church that embraces this new position.

Kokomo very much needs a chapter of PFLAG (Parents, Family and Friends of Lesbians and Gays). People are still hurting. Families are still being torn apart. It also needs gay-friendly churches to make that fact known.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll