Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

April 5, 2014

April 5, 2014: Cheers & Jeers

Patriots, veterans help raise $4,000

Jerry Paul, president of the Howard County Veterans Memorial Corp., sends this Cheer:

“Thanks to all of the patriots and veterans in the community who made the Disabled American Veterans van raffle a success. We were able to raise $4,000 for a new van that will be used to transport our disabled veterans to the VA hospital.

“A special thank-you goes to American Legion Post 317 for its generous donation of $1,000 — and to UAW Local 685 President Rich Boruff, Vice President Jerry Price, the executive board and membership for their donation of $1,000.

“Thank you to Jonathan Russell of Russell Designs for volunteering his time and to JR Dennis of WWKI for inviting us to his fundraiser at the Booster Club of Kokomo.

“Congratulations to the winners of our raffle: Tony Nelson, David Luckey, Rick Hosier, Kim Allbaugh, Tammy Mohr and James Woodbury.

“Thanks again to the community for supporting your veterans.”

Project Hope helps Indianapolis

Project Hope founder Glenda Manis sends this Cheer:

“Project Hope made a trip to Indianapolis, along the White River. We delivered tarps, warm clothes and food.

“We have met a lot of homeless souls who live along the river. These people endure all kinds of weather conditions.

“Part of the year they have to deal with snakes that come out of the water and into their tents. These makeshift dwellings, made of skids and tarps, help the homeless stay out of the weather.

“We would like to thank all the people who helped us get items together. Thank you, Pastor Mike of Grace Community Church on Goyer Road, for the warm clothes. Barbara Daggy provided the tarps. She also delivered the much-needed items to our people on the White River.

“God bless all the people who made this trip possible.”

Delicious spaghetti in Sharpsville

Jim Leffler of Tipton sends this Cheer:

“Thank you, Sharpsville!

“I want to thank all the ladies for their hard work, setting this fundraiser up, and all the delicious food they prepared and donated to our spaghetti dinner.

“Also thanks to all the fantastic people who came and donated to the cause and enjoyed the great food. It was a great success!

“Thanks again, Sharpsville, and all the great people who came!”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll