Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 11, 2014

MATT CONRAD: Chrysler, Purdue alliance

Partnership reflects Indiana's innovative leadership

It takes about an hour to navigate the route from Purdue University in West Lafayette to Chrysler Group LLC’s Kokomo and Tipton plants. But the new partnership between the university and the global auto manufacturer moves Indiana’s automotive industry dramatically forward.

The two will share research and development efforts, and provide learning opportunities for both Purdue students and Chrysler employees worldwide in a collaboration that reflects the best of what can be accomplished when industry and higher education work together.

The partnership recently announced includes seven specific projects, funded with a $1.2 million investment from Chrysler. It builds on a two-year-old relationship between the automaker and the university that has already seen Purdue landscape architecture students working on several Chrysler facilities, and interior design students completing indoor projects.

The educational piece comprises internships and co-op programs with Chrysler for Purdue students, and distance-education programs for the company’s global employees. Purdue faculty and graduate and undergraduate students are working side-by-side with Chrysler employees on identified projects, and Purdue students also are participating in service-learning programs with Kokomo high school students.

This is a shining example of the workforce development and innovation efforts the Indiana Automotive Council (IAC) has championed to help close the skills gap existing between today’s advanced manufacturing and automotive employers and the employee pool. The IAC, an industry-led partnership sponsored by Conexus Indiana and the Indiana Economic Development Corp. with collaboration from higher education leaders, is the state’s initiative focusing on workforce development, innovation and building research and supplier networks to help Indiana’s automotive companies grow. Indiana’s automotive industry is the second largest in the U.S., employing more than 500,000 Hoosiers and producing almost $10 billion in goods each year.

The innovative partnership between Purdue and Chrysler highlights the benefits of collaboration between higher education and industry. It gives Chrysler access to the world-class research and engineering expertise of Purdue, while providing real-world, hands-on experience to Purdue students. That experience is a unique opportunity for students to develop the high-tech skills companies like Chrysler need today and in the future.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll