Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 11, 2014

MATT CONRAD: Chrysler, Purdue alliance

Partnership reflects Indiana's innovative leadership

It takes about an hour to navigate the route from Purdue University in West Lafayette to Chrysler Group LLC’s Kokomo and Tipton plants. But the new partnership between the university and the global auto manufacturer moves Indiana’s automotive industry dramatically forward.

The two will share research and development efforts, and provide learning opportunities for both Purdue students and Chrysler employees worldwide in a collaboration that reflects the best of what can be accomplished when industry and higher education work together.

The partnership recently announced includes seven specific projects, funded with a $1.2 million investment from Chrysler. It builds on a two-year-old relationship between the automaker and the university that has already seen Purdue landscape architecture students working on several Chrysler facilities, and interior design students completing indoor projects.

The educational piece comprises internships and co-op programs with Chrysler for Purdue students, and distance-education programs for the company’s global employees. Purdue faculty and graduate and undergraduate students are working side-by-side with Chrysler employees on identified projects, and Purdue students also are participating in service-learning programs with Kokomo high school students.

This is a shining example of the workforce development and innovation efforts the Indiana Automotive Council (IAC) has championed to help close the skills gap existing between today’s advanced manufacturing and automotive employers and the employee pool. The IAC, an industry-led partnership sponsored by Conexus Indiana and the Indiana Economic Development Corp. with collaboration from higher education leaders, is the state’s initiative focusing on workforce development, innovation and building research and supplier networks to help Indiana’s automotive companies grow. Indiana’s automotive industry is the second largest in the U.S., employing more than 500,000 Hoosiers and producing almost $10 billion in goods each year.

The innovative partnership between Purdue and Chrysler highlights the benefits of collaboration between higher education and industry. It gives Chrysler access to the world-class research and engineering expertise of Purdue, while providing real-world, hands-on experience to Purdue students. That experience is a unique opportunity for students to develop the high-tech skills companies like Chrysler need today and in the future.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll