Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 16, 2014

House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

The 43rd president publicly debuts artwork

On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

Unwitting subjects included: Prime Minister Tony Blair, His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet, President Vladimir Putin, Chancellor Angela Merkel, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki and Prime Minister Junichiro Koizumi. The show also features a 7-minute video produced by The History Channel.

“Painting portraits of my friends and some people who weren’t necessarily my friends gave me a sense to convey a feeling I have about them,” Bush says in the clip.

According to Bush, he began painting in 2012 after reading Winston Churchill’s essay “Painting as a Pastime.”

“It inspired me,” he explained in the video.

The essay first appeared in The Strand Magazine in two parts: “Hobbies” (December 1921) and “Painting as a Pastime” (January 1922). “Try [painting] if you have not done so — before you die,” wrote Churchill. There are parallels between the artistic lives of Bush and Churchill: they are largely traditionalists who work in oil on canvas and who both embraced the art form after leading costly military campaigns.

In Bush’s case, we are still calculating the price of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. During World War I, Churchill was stripped of his title as First Lord of the Admiralty after the disastrous Battle of Gallipoli. “When this war is over I shall confine myself entirely to writing and painting,” Churchill said in November 1915, according to Martin Gilbert’s 1994 book, “In Search of Churchill: A Historian’s Journey.”

Churchill completed over 500 paintings, brawling his way though each one. “Painting is like fighting a battle,” Churchill wrote in his essay. Following that logic, Bush could have fought harder here. Roberta Smith called Bush’s show “a hagiographic soup of an exhibition” in The New York Times on April 7. Some, including writer/director Greg Allen, have pointed out Bush didn’t exactly challenge himself. “Bush painted his portraits … from the top search result on Google Images,” wrote Allen on his website.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll