Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 16, 2013

Don't meander through fatherhood, gentlemen

You're trustee over your children for God

Although human think-ing is enhanced by generalizing and noticing patterns, the same process that helps us draw conclusions can sometimes blind us to facts that do not fit our conclusions. This is the case when it comes to fatherhood — more than ever. No two dads are alike, nor do any two dads have the exact same personality or circumstances. Think about how the various dads in the joke below have differing lives:

In the old days, four men were waiting in the hospital lounge; their wives were in the process of delivering babies. A nurse dashed over to the first man and said, “Congratulations! You’re the father of twins.”

“That’s a coincidence” replied the first man. “I work for the Minnesota Twins!”

A nurse greeted the second fellow, “Congratulations! You’re the father of triplets!”

“That’s amazing,” gasped the second man. “I work for the 3M company!”

Soon the nurse proceeded to inform the third man, “Congratulations! You’re the father of quadruplets!”

“That’s fantastic,” he answered. “I work for the Four Seasons hotel!”

The last man moaned, groaned and pounded his chest.

“What is the matter with you, man?” the new fathers asked.

The man replied painfully, “I work for the production team of ‘101 Dalmatians’!”

Size of family, blended or traditional family, working mom, working dad, stay-at-home mom, stay-at-home dad, divorced, never married, living in different states, working for long periods of time abroad, with step-children or unrelated half siblings of step-children, teens, toddlers — all these and many other factors contribute toward a diverse group of men who own the title “Dad.”

I have known many folks who found their families broken — people who had hoped to remain married to their original spouse until death parted them. Drugs, unfaithfulness, crime, violence or mental illness are among the many issues that break up marriages. Those of us who have been able to evade such things are graciously blessed — people just like us may have not been so blessed. There are no guarantees when it comes to marriage and child-rearing.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll