Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 16, 2013

Don't meander through fatherhood, gentlemen

You're trustee over your children for God

Although human think-ing is enhanced by generalizing and noticing patterns, the same process that helps us draw conclusions can sometimes blind us to facts that do not fit our conclusions. This is the case when it comes to fatherhood — more than ever. No two dads are alike, nor do any two dads have the exact same personality or circumstances. Think about how the various dads in the joke below have differing lives:

In the old days, four men were waiting in the hospital lounge; their wives were in the process of delivering babies. A nurse dashed over to the first man and said, “Congratulations! You’re the father of twins.”

“That’s a coincidence” replied the first man. “I work for the Minnesota Twins!”

A nurse greeted the second fellow, “Congratulations! You’re the father of triplets!”

“That’s amazing,” gasped the second man. “I work for the 3M company!”

Soon the nurse proceeded to inform the third man, “Congratulations! You’re the father of quadruplets!”

“That’s fantastic,” he answered. “I work for the Four Seasons hotel!”

The last man moaned, groaned and pounded his chest.

“What is the matter with you, man?” the new fathers asked.

The man replied painfully, “I work for the production team of ‘101 Dalmatians’!”

Size of family, blended or traditional family, working mom, working dad, stay-at-home mom, stay-at-home dad, divorced, never married, living in different states, working for long periods of time abroad, with step-children or unrelated half siblings of step-children, teens, toddlers — all these and many other factors contribute toward a diverse group of men who own the title “Dad.”

I have known many folks who found their families broken — people who had hoped to remain married to their original spouse until death parted them. Drugs, unfaithfulness, crime, violence or mental illness are among the many issues that break up marriages. Those of us who have been able to evade such things are graciously blessed — people just like us may have not been so blessed. There are no guarantees when it comes to marriage and child-rearing.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll