Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 16, 2013

Don't meander through fatherhood, gentlemen

You're trustee over your children for God

Although human think-ing is enhanced by generalizing and noticing patterns, the same process that helps us draw conclusions can sometimes blind us to facts that do not fit our conclusions. This is the case when it comes to fatherhood — more than ever. No two dads are alike, nor do any two dads have the exact same personality or circumstances. Think about how the various dads in the joke below have differing lives:

In the old days, four men were waiting in the hospital lounge; their wives were in the process of delivering babies. A nurse dashed over to the first man and said, “Congratulations! You’re the father of twins.”

“That’s a coincidence” replied the first man. “I work for the Minnesota Twins!”

A nurse greeted the second fellow, “Congratulations! You’re the father of triplets!”

“That’s amazing,” gasped the second man. “I work for the 3M company!”

Soon the nurse proceeded to inform the third man, “Congratulations! You’re the father of quadruplets!”

“That’s fantastic,” he answered. “I work for the Four Seasons hotel!”

The last man moaned, groaned and pounded his chest.

“What is the matter with you, man?” the new fathers asked.

The man replied painfully, “I work for the production team of ‘101 Dalmatians’!”

Size of family, blended or traditional family, working mom, working dad, stay-at-home mom, stay-at-home dad, divorced, never married, living in different states, working for long periods of time abroad, with step-children or unrelated half siblings of step-children, teens, toddlers — all these and many other factors contribute toward a diverse group of men who own the title “Dad.”

I have known many folks who found their families broken — people who had hoped to remain married to their original spouse until death parted them. Drugs, unfaithfulness, crime, violence or mental illness are among the many issues that break up marriages. Those of us who have been able to evade such things are graciously blessed — people just like us may have not been so blessed. There are no guarantees when it comes to marriage and child-rearing.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership' On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than

    April 16, 2014

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll