Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 19, 2013

Love grows in garden

We know; it’s only June. Corn is barely shin high, and backyard gardeners only recently have noticed small, green tomatoes on their vines.

But volunteers working the Community Garden near Ivy Tech Community College already have harvested 34 pounds of kohlrabi, which was taken to the Rescue Mission.

“Our great volunteers have already documented 261 volunteer hours,” Jeannie Vondersaar of the Purdue University-Howard County Extension told us. “That is a great start.”

Pounds and pounds of beets, kale, bell peppers, yellow peppers, Swiss chard and zucchini soon will be collected. And in the coming weeks, green beans, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, corn, cucumbers, eggplant, onions, parsnips, potatoes, sweet potatoes, acorn squash, butternut squash, summer squash, tomatoes and turnips will come in.

All will be distributed to community kitchens and residential centers.

Barbara Hight, who managed the kitchen at Open Arms Women’s Shelter at the time, told us in 2007 that the produce from the Community Garden means the women and children get fresh vegetables at lunch and dinner.

“They really enjoy the fresh green beans and the corn on the cob,” she said. “With the donation, we are able to provide a healthy meal.”

The Community Garden was started in the spring of 2003 as a pilot program between Ivy Tech, Purdue University-Howard County Extension and Purdue Master Gardeners from the Howard County Master Gardeners Association. It was designed to supply fresh produce to the community’s hungry and serve as a live laboratory for free public seminars in vegetable gardening.

In 2003, volunteers harvested 4,744 pounds. Last year, the total was more than 15,000 pounds – 7.5 tons – all on 1 acre of donated land with donated labor.

Thanks, volunteers, for your hard work. The folks at Coordinated Assistance Ministries, Gilead House, Howard Haven, Open Arms Women’s Shelter, Rescue Mission and many other agencies thank you, as well.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll