Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 22, 2013

June 22, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

‘She goes above and beyond’

Vicky Clark of Kokomo sends this Cheer for her Kokomo Tribune carrier:

“We would like to acknowledge our paper carrier, Deb Tuttle, as she goes above and beyond.

“Since my husband is not well, we asked Deb if she could pull into the driveway and toss the paper near the front door. Recently, she began getting out of her vehicle to hang the paper on the railing for easier access.

“We wanted you to know how much we appreciate her and want to thank her.”

Columnist’s advice has Christian roots

Charles A. Layne of Bunker Hill sends this Cheer for a Hoosier journalist:

“The advice to parents of the Class of 2031 by Mark Bennett provides an example of the positive consequences of the Christian faith.

“In his column published in the Tribune, Mr. Bennett sets out seven suggestions that will benefit the lives of today’s infants as they grow toward high school graduation. Christians know intuitively and experientially that each of Mr. Bennett’s suggestions is a normal, natural consequence for anyone striving to grow honestly in relationship with our self-revealed living God. Throughout his many years of teaching family dynamics and relationships, Focus on the Family founder Dr. James Dobson has demonstrated numerous times how honest, vibrant Christian discipleship translates into positive family outcomes.

“As our culture has grown in animosity toward God, we have experienced increasing instability in family life. Consequently, we experience increasing rates of poverty, broken relationships, sexual misbehavior, vulgarity, disrespect toward others, and overall selfish behavior. Not even atheists and secularists want these outcomes. Yet, with no solid foundation upon which to build moral and ethical behavior, there is no way to achieve the outcomes contained in Mr. Bennett’s column.

“So my thanks go out to Mr. Bennett for confirming in this column the natural benefits of positive family life that grow from the Christian faith.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll