Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 22, 2013

June 22, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

‘She goes above and beyond’

Vicky Clark of Kokomo sends this Cheer for her Kokomo Tribune carrier:

“We would like to acknowledge our paper carrier, Deb Tuttle, as she goes above and beyond.

“Since my husband is not well, we asked Deb if she could pull into the driveway and toss the paper near the front door. Recently, she began getting out of her vehicle to hang the paper on the railing for easier access.

“We wanted you to know how much we appreciate her and want to thank her.”

Columnist’s advice has Christian roots

Charles A. Layne of Bunker Hill sends this Cheer for a Hoosier journalist:

“The advice to parents of the Class of 2031 by Mark Bennett provides an example of the positive consequences of the Christian faith.

“In his column published in the Tribune, Mr. Bennett sets out seven suggestions that will benefit the lives of today’s infants as they grow toward high school graduation. Christians know intuitively and experientially that each of Mr. Bennett’s suggestions is a normal, natural consequence for anyone striving to grow honestly in relationship with our self-revealed living God. Throughout his many years of teaching family dynamics and relationships, Focus on the Family founder Dr. James Dobson has demonstrated numerous times how honest, vibrant Christian discipleship translates into positive family outcomes.

“As our culture has grown in animosity toward God, we have experienced increasing instability in family life. Consequently, we experience increasing rates of poverty, broken relationships, sexual misbehavior, vulgarity, disrespect toward others, and overall selfish behavior. Not even atheists and secularists want these outcomes. Yet, with no solid foundation upon which to build moral and ethical behavior, there is no way to achieve the outcomes contained in Mr. Bennett’s column.

“So my thanks go out to Mr. Bennett for confirming in this column the natural benefits of positive family life that grow from the Christian faith.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll