Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 23, 2013

Baseball is our pastime

After Western High School won its first state baseball championship a year ago, catcher Kyle Ennis and the rest of the team mobbed relief pitcher Evan Warden.

Jumping into a post-title dog pile was new to Ennis. But it wasn’t for first baseman Jake Florek, winning pitcher Ronnie Smith and Mitchell Shahan, who scored a run during Western’s 8-1 win over Indianapolis Brebeuf in the 2012 championship game.

Florek, Smith and Shahan were a part of the Martin Brothers youth baseball team that won the Kokomo Tribune’s David A. Kasey Memorial Howard County Tournament in 2004.

Memories of that summer still burn brightly.

“The tournament’s the biggest thing ever. It’s what you play your season for,” Florek said of the 2004 Kasey tournament. “We beat four league champions to get there. I remember going to the game. It was totally surrounded by people.”

Kasey championship games still draw a crowd. An estimated 1,500 fans watched King’s Heating defeat Salsbery Garden Center, 4-3, at Northwestern Thursday. The King’s club scored two runs in the bottom of the fifth inning to take a one-run lead, and pitcher Logan Bowser retired Salsbery’s first three batters in the top of the sixth to end the game.

Perhaps baseball is the county pastime.

We celebrate the achievements of Western’s 2013 squad, which advanced to the semistate before losing to eventual state champion Norwell. We congratulate the players and their coaches. And we acknowledge such success these past two seasons wasn’t an accident.

Over the years, the players have had the encouragement of family members — maybe a mother who drove them to and from practice; a brother who taught them how to pull a fastball and wait on a curve; a father with whom they could play catch.

But they’ve also had the support of the Howard County community. Most of the players grew up here. They played youth baseball here. They had many patient coaches and umpires to help teach them the game.

King’s players Logan Bowser and Elijah Moon, the only 12-year-olds with the 2013 Kasey tournament champions, were 1-19 as 9-year-olds.

Who knows? In another five years, perhaps they will be celebrating a state high school championship of their own.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll