Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 23, 2013

Baseball is our pastime

After Western High School won its first state baseball championship a year ago, catcher Kyle Ennis and the rest of the team mobbed relief pitcher Evan Warden.

Jumping into a post-title dog pile was new to Ennis. But it wasn’t for first baseman Jake Florek, winning pitcher Ronnie Smith and Mitchell Shahan, who scored a run during Western’s 8-1 win over Indianapolis Brebeuf in the 2012 championship game.

Florek, Smith and Shahan were a part of the Martin Brothers youth baseball team that won the Kokomo Tribune’s David A. Kasey Memorial Howard County Tournament in 2004.

Memories of that summer still burn brightly.

“The tournament’s the biggest thing ever. It’s what you play your season for,” Florek said of the 2004 Kasey tournament. “We beat four league champions to get there. I remember going to the game. It was totally surrounded by people.”

Kasey championship games still draw a crowd. An estimated 1,500 fans watched King’s Heating defeat Salsbery Garden Center, 4-3, at Northwestern Thursday. The King’s club scored two runs in the bottom of the fifth inning to take a one-run lead, and pitcher Logan Bowser retired Salsbery’s first three batters in the top of the sixth to end the game.

Perhaps baseball is the county pastime.

We celebrate the achievements of Western’s 2013 squad, which advanced to the semistate before losing to eventual state champion Norwell. We congratulate the players and their coaches. And we acknowledge such success these past two seasons wasn’t an accident.

Over the years, the players have had the encouragement of family members — maybe a mother who drove them to and from practice; a brother who taught them how to pull a fastball and wait on a curve; a father with whom they could play catch.

But they’ve also had the support of the Howard County community. Most of the players grew up here. They played youth baseball here. They had many patient coaches and umpires to help teach them the game.

King’s players Logan Bowser and Elijah Moon, the only 12-year-olds with the 2013 Kasey tournament champions, were 1-19 as 9-year-olds.

Who knows? In another five years, perhaps they will be celebrating a state high school championship of their own.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll