Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 23, 2013

June 23, 2013: Letters to the editor

Pause to consider what’s important

I am writing in response to the recent outrage directed at Peter Heck for his comments in his commencement address at Eastern High School.

This is nothing more than an attempt to harm someone, guilty only of being a conservative.

First they twist and distort Peter Heck’s words and views, and then go into all-out attack mode. I ask you, liberals, is this the best you can do? Is this the best you have got? It is obvious the answers to these questions are yes.

I can visualize Peter Heck sitting back in his recliner, smiling and uttering the word “bingo,” and you protesters do not even have any idea what has just happened. You have just proved him right. The world does scoff at the idea of a woman believing the greatest role of her life would be that of wife and mother

Another thing he said, which obviously angered the liberals, is “that the greatest impact you will ever contribute to our world is a loving and devoted investment into the lives of your precious children.” Does anyone really doubt this is true for each and every one of us? If you are one who does not believe this to be a true statement, then the one you see in the mirror is the one with the problem.

In November 2012, the Pew Research Center conducted a poll and found 51 percent of survey respondents said children are better off if a mother is home and doesn’t hold a job. This does not mean a woman cannot do a terrific job of being a mother and also having a career, or that Peter Heck believes a woman cannot do a good job of both as well. It just means more people are in agreement with Peter Heck than those who are protesting his commencement address.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll