Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

March 18, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 18, 2013

Who is the source? Verify the facts

Our friend, the late attorney Dick Regnier, used to tell us, “Before you believe an article, determine who is the source.” Good advice then and today.

Many anti wind-farm quotes in the Tribune Letters to Editor are from unknown people supposedly in Benton County. No name, address. Their quotes are mixed with opinions of the Tipton County writer.

If you cannot check the source and verify the writer’s facts, should you believe what he writes?

Benton County’s 2012 population (US census bureau) was 8,804. There are probably a few people out of 8,804 who would complain about telephone poles or cell phone towers. Who are these 2 or 3 complainers our of the 8,804 citizens?

Where are the opinions of the other Benton County people, many of whom are delighted that the wind farm energy is helping their county?

We’ve visited with families from wind farm areas in Benton & White counties, in Madison County, and with families from central Illinois, all of whom are grateful for the tax money and good roads the wind farms gave them. They, like we, feel fortunate that fine wind companies like juwi and E-On want to help us harvest a free crop for our county.

We have good school systems in Tipton County, good library, roads, utilities and communities. These will not remain top notch without annual maintenance, support and taxes from all who own property in the county.

Since the FannyMae/Freddie Mac housing crash of 2008, savings accounts have disappeared. Big new houses have mortgages that cannot be paid. Jobs are hard to find.

Tipton County now has this wonderful opportunity — once in a lifetime — to let fine, nationally-respected wind companies help us. Let us not turn down this opportunity. Please support and encourage the wind farms to locate in Tipton County for the good of all 15, 695 citizens. (2012 US Census Bureau).

Judy McKinney, Tipton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Forgive us our debts According to the most recent Religious Landscape Survey by Pew Research, 78.4 percent of Americans are affiliated with the Christian faith. Whether Roman Catholic, evangelical or mainline Protestant, most can recite the Lord’s Prayer.“And forgive us

    July 9, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Justices say, 'Get a warrant'

    Imagine you’ve just been arrested, and you have your smartphone with you. Think about all the personal information contained on that device. Now, are you comfortable with the arresting officer poking around your cellphone without just cause while you remain handcuffed?

    July 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS: Coats is part of establishment; problem property needs fixed Sen. Coats is a partof the establishmentThis letter is in response to the column published July 4 in the Kokomo Tribune, written by Indiana Sen. Dan Coats.In your column, Sen. Coats, you begin, “Hoosiers frequently tell me that they are frustrated by

    July 9, 2014

  • CECIL BOHANON: Let's not make a false idol out of politics Long before anyone had heard of the "religious right" there was a "religious left" using its resources, influence and prestige to lobby the public sector to promote so-called progressive public policies. And it continues to influence; I saw it in ful

    July 9, 2014

  • Celebrate the summer This is the time of year when Greentown comes alive. A small, quiet town — except during Friday night football games and whenever the high school marching band is practicing — this eastern Howard County community will reverberate with the sounds of t

    July 8, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Financial hardships mount for state's military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don't let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was a striking mes

    July 8, 2014

  • LETTERS: Is showing respect a thing of the past? Is showing respect a thing of the past? Watching fireworks with my family Saturday night in downtown Kokomo reminded me why I can't stand going to overly crowded public events. Like most of the "normal" folks, we had positioned ourselves so we could

    July 8, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Ritz seek federal dollars without strings attached Last week saw two diametrically opposed Indiana politicians go to great lengths to ensure the state wins large sums of federal money without the strings that are normally attached.Last Monday, Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz, a Democrat, filed a r

    July 8, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Evolving Hoosier marriage and equal protection of laws The last week of June brought extraordinary images to Indiana. With the stroke of a pen, federal Judge Richard Young struck down the state’s marriage laws passed by overwhelming bipartisan majorities. Within hours, hundreds of gay couples flowed into

    July 7, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Mum's selective hearing If my grandmother were alive today, she would be 125, and she would still, no doubt, be walking around in her 6-inch-high heels, the ones she asked to be buried in — and she’d have a Marlboro in her fingers. She demanded to be called Mum Mum because

    July 7, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Argentina to Face Germany in World Cup Final Service Held for 200 Whose Bodies Went Unclaimed Kim Kardashian Hits Up Valentino Show in Paris "Hotwives" Spoofs Reality TV Israeli Offensive Escalates in Gaza Attack Dozens Gain Citizenship As Debate Continues Dodgers Found Partly Responsible in Fan Beating Children of Deported Parents Speak Out GOP: Immigration a 'human Rights Issue' Raw: 10-year Sentence for Ex-New Orleans Mayor Raw: Fans Gather for Argentina-Netherlands Match Froome Crashes Out on Bumpy 5th Tour Stage Obama Talks Economy, Slams Republicans Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Tornadoes Kill Four in Central New York McCaskill: Campus Assault Survey Is Wake Up Call Raw: Obama Shoots Pool in Denver Typhoon Nears Japan's Main Islands Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Weaver Reprises Ripley Role for 'Alien' Game
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll