Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

March 20, 2013

See cones, use caution

The issue: Highway work zone safety.

Our view: Be patient and stay calm when driving near road construction crews.

Though temperatures don’t reflect it, it’s spring in Indiana. And with the changing seasons, Hoosiers can count on the return of thunderstorms, daffodils and miles of orange cones on our highways.

The cones oftentimes are the only things separating fast-moving, two-ton vehicles from road construction crews. The crewmen’s very lives are dependent upon attentive driving by motorists.

But what those motorists might not realize is they’re more at risk of injury and death than the workers.

The Federal Highway Administration reports nearly 2.4 million people were injured and 37,261 were killed on our nation’s roads in 2008. That same year, however, 720 of those deaths occurred in work zones — 2 percent of all roadway fatalities. In addition, more than 40,000 injuries occur in work zones.

That’s one work zone death every 10 hours, and one work zone injury every 13 minutes. What’s more, more than 4 out of 5 work zone deaths were motorists.

The week of April 15 is National Work Zone Awareness Week, an annual reminder to use caution while driving near work crews. Most work zone accidents can be avoided, the Federal Highway Administration says. It offers these 10 tips for driving safely in work zones:

• Expect the unexpected. Normal speed limits might be reduced, traffic lanes might be changed and people might be working on or near the road.

• Slow down. Speeding is one of the primary causes of work zone crashes.

• Don’t tailgate. Keep a safe distance between you and the car ahead. The most common crash in a highway work zone is the rear-end collision.

• Keep a safe distance between your vehicle and workers and their equipment.

• Pay attention to signs. Warning signs are there to help you and other drivers move safely through the work zone.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll