Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 27, 2013

Editorial - March 27, 2013: Show pride; sow flowers

The issue: Planting of public areas around Kokomo.

Our view: The city’s planting initiative shouts civic pride to residents and visitors alike. If you have a green thumb and some free time May 18, we encourage you to show your community spirit and help Kokomo bloom this spring.

Preparing downtown flowers is today an annual rite for friends of the Kokomo Downtown Association. Spring is here, despite all the snow, so it’s time to get busy.

“Downtown is the showcase of our community,” Mayor Greg Goodnight said last year. “When people are looking for a place to live or start a business, they ask to see the downtown, because a downtown will tell them if a community is decaying or if it is progressing. Our community is progressing, and beautification is a wonderful way to show it.”

The downtown association, a division of the Greater Kokomo Economic Development Alliance, hosted adult and student volunteers to plant flower cuttings in baskets Tuesday.

The flower baskets will hang from streetlights along Sycamore Street, from St. Joseph Hospital to U.S. 31.

More baskets will hang from light posts on other streets in the center of the city and around the Indiana University Kokomo campus. Outdoor plantings will take place between City Hall and the Howard County Courthouse.

Mark and Julie Hilligoss’ greenhouse at 3556 W. 500 South, Sharpsville, welcomed the cutting-planters Tuesday.

The 700 baskets will remain in the greenhouse until May, when city crews will hang them.

Volunteers also will join city crews from 8 a.m. to noon May 18 to plant flowers downtown. Helpers on planting day should bring gloves, garden trowels and shovels. Sponsors of downtown’s 34 bump-outs are particularly encouraged to come out and plant their intersections.

Everyone will meet at 8 a.m. May 18 at the Gazebo across from City Hall on Union Street for coffee, juice and doughnuts.

The downtown association’s planting initiative, financially supported by the city since former Mayor Matt McKillip’s administration, shouts civic pride to residents and visitors alike.

If you have a green thumb and some free time May 18, we encourage you to show your community spirit and help Kokomo bloom this spring.

        For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Kokomo Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll