Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 3, 2012

Day: Prepare now for those later years

Kokomo — As we grow, from birth to the early years to the teenage years to adulthood, we go through some drastic changes. We are in the hands of our parents for most of that time, then later decide to embark on a new life without the security of our parents and only a few dollars in our pockets.

From that time when we first enter the world still fastened to our mother, we depend on her to give us what we need. That is a bond that no other can offer.

As time goes by, we start finding out we have a father who is responsible for bringing in the money to buy food and clothes and pay the bills. Then as we grow a little older, we find that our mother not only has us to bring up, but also a few more kids who reap in the same benefits we do. That is what is called a family, and that is good.

The first few years, mom and dad try to teach us how to walk, speak and listen to what they are trying to tell us. We then start school, where teachers take on the task of working on what has been taught by the parents. They show us how to read, write and study the things needed to get us ready for the outside world – when it is time to leave the nest, venture out into the world to make our mark, take a mate and bring up our own family.

And so the cycle moves, time and time again, and that is good.

Soon the parents are turned into grandparents, and they wonder where the time went. Life is like that. It can be a great and joyful one, or it can be a heartache that carries a scar for a very long time.

We find out that times have changed and, instead of it being like it was, the parents soon are moving in with the kids when they can’t take care of themselves. It is a left turn. The kids move back into the parents’ home, and soon there is a house-full. The privacy the parents had is no more.

Where does that leave the parents, who love their kids so much but now have to go through a change in life that should not have to be? Do they just sit back and wait for that time when God calls them home? Don’t they deserve to reap the joy of togetherness with their mate in those golden years, alone, still in daily touch with their children who should be walking their own paths?

Folks, this is for real. Life is that way unless you have made different arrangements for that time in those golden years that have turned a little gray.

Lord knows it is a little expensive to have to go to a nursing home, so you need to look forward some and try to set back some assets so that you won’t be homeless or a hindrance to your kids.

And that should open up the eyes and minds of the younger members of the family. Tell them they should be there for their loved ones, taking care of their needs instead of waiting until they lose them and then fighting over the assets that are left.

Show your love now. Don’t wait till later and find out that it was too late.

If you don’t have a will or a living will, do yourself a favor and get one. They can always be changed later if needed, but just having one now is a good thing to do. We have ours, and our kids won’t have to make a grave decision.

Ray “Uncle Ray” Day is a weekly contributor to the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at uncleray@earthlink.net.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll