Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 7, 2012

Thank you, veterans

Kokomo — THE ISSUE: Howard County’s annual Military Appreciation Days observance.

OUR VIEW: We join more than 60 local businesses in saluting our family members and neighbors who served in the U.S. military.

On Sunday — Nov. 11 — America will honor its military veterans, past and present. The tradition started in 1919.

President Woodrow Wilson proclaimed Nov. 11 a day of “solemn pride in the heroism of those who died in the country’s service and with gratitude for the victory” in World War I.

This past Saturday, Kokomo and Howard County started observing Military Appreciation Days through Nov. 12. Recently retired Howard County Veteran Services officer Bob Ladd once said it’s the only celebration of its kind in the state.

Military Appreciation Days is the brainchild of Rick Riddle, the one-time manager of Kokomo’s Golden Corral restaurant, who just relocated to Evansville. The restaurant chain began serving free meals to veterans 11 years ago. It will again from 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. Nov. 12. It’s called Military Appreciation Monday.

The Kokomo Golden Corral served 1,600 free meals to veterans four years ago, and neighboring Half Moon Restaurant and Brewery joined in the observance.

That’s when Riddle decided he could help make the observance even bigger.

This week, more than 60 Howard County businesses – from restaurants, auto dealers and photography studios to jewelers and hairstylists – will offer discounts for veterans. Last year, 70 businesses participated.

About 8,000 Howard County residents are military veterans, according to the local Disabled American Veterans chapter. We join the Golden Corral, Half Moon Restaurant and Brewery and the other participating businesses in thanking our family members and neighbors who served in the U.S. military.

Thank you, each and every one, for stepping forward and saying, “I’ll go.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Hoax Bomb Raises Anxiety in Boston Egypt Clamps Down on Mosques to Control Message After Fukushima, Japan Eyes Solar Power New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict?
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll