Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 13, 2012

Editorial - Nov. 13, 2012: Bands’ work pays off big

The issue: The marching band state finals.

Our view: Lewis Cass and Western deserve every accolade.

 

Most started back in July, learning the music and practicing formations in hopes of earning a trip to Lucas Oil Stadium for the Indiana State School Music Association marching band finals.

Some practiced twice a day in the heat of summer, not unlike their schools’ football teams.

For the Lewis Cass and Western marching bands, all of the effort – the many fundraisers, the solo work at home, the practices with others in their sections – paid off Nov. 3.

Western added a 13th state marching band title to its trophy case, winning Class C with its program, “At the Water’s Edge.” The music the band performed was arranged by Don Barrett, a Western band alumnus who makes his living in Hollywood writing music for film and television.

Cass, in its 31st consecutive appearance in the state finals, placed third in Class D with “El Ano de Los Reyes.” It was an emotional performance. The band’s former director, Mike Clark, died Sept. 30 after a long battle with cancer.

Band member Shaylee Sparks told us the Marching Kings wore green bands in Clark’s memory.

“I look at it as his hand is touching our shoulders,” Sparks said after their state performance.

For Western, too, there was pride in their fifth straight title. “We had our best performance,” senior Evan Carman said. “We worked for it and it paid off.”

Western’s best performance was yet to come, though. This past Saturday, Western was crowned best in the land as Class A national champions during the Bands of America Grand National competition in Indianapolis.

For years, Western band director Brian Caldwell and Northwestern director Jeremy Snyder have said the Kokomo area is home to some of the finest bands in a state known nationwide for marching band. It’s hard to argue with them – two of the four 2011 state champions were from here, as well as one of the national champions in 2012.

Congratulations, Cass and Western.

And kudos to Western, in particular. Western has placed second, first, first, first, first and first in the last six state competitions.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll