Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

May 25, 2013

May 25, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Remembering Holly Kirkpatrick

Retired Kokomo teacher Miriam Bence, of Windfall, sends this Cheer for Holly Kirkpatrick:

“I want to thank and recognize several retired teachers of Kokomo-Center Schools. I won’t publicly name them for the loving care they gave to fellow teacher and friend, Holly Kirkpatrick.

“These teachers took care of Holly during her struggle with cancer. They were there to usher her into Heaven. Holly died last Nov. 25, 2012. These teachers took care of Holly’s personal belongings and treasured collections. Many of these items were in an estate auction May 16. These teachers handled her Buckley Moss and Patti Host paintings and prints with loving care.

“Holly was an excellent teacher at Sycamore Elementary School for many years. She had a long list of talents from which her students, co-workers and friends benefited. Holly was very generous and never expected anything in return.

“Holly was Kokomo-Center Schools’ teachers association president for many years. I was a building representative at Bon Air Elementary School for many years and had the honor to work with Holly. She helped me with personal concerns when my husband had cancer in 2001-2002. My retirement came during that time, and Holly walked me through all the procedures. Again, she was generous and compassionate.

“Kokomo-Center has a memorial education fund in Holly’s name to benefit students and teachers. To make a donation, write: Kokomo-Center Schools, 1500 S. Washington St., Kokomo, IN 46902, Attention of Deborah Vawter.

“Please remember Holly this Memorial Day. God bless.”

‘Greatest Spectacle’ raises $40,000

Brittnee Burton, director of development and public relations at Bona Vista Programs, sends this Cheer:

“Cheers to everyone who helped make the 19th annual Greatest Spectacle in Tasting a success! Presented by Soupley’s Wine & Spirits and Z92FIVE, this year’s Greatest Spectacle in Tasting raised well over $40,000 for children and adults at Bona Vista Programs.

“Thank you to the local restaurants that participated, to the volunteers who helped throughout the event, and to Loose Change for providing live entertainment.

“Thank you to this year’s sponsors: Liberty Financial Group, The DeHayes Group, Haynes International, Dr. Bill Grider, BMO Harris Bank, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Indiana Pest Control, JA Benefits LLC, The Hardie Group, Solidarity Community Federal Credit Union, City of Firsts Federal Credit Union, Community First Bank, Monroe Construction, Kokomo New Car Dealers Association, St. Joseph Hospital, Billy’s Auto Repair, Beckley’s Office Supplies, Blue & Co. LLC, Allied Benefits, Carney-Echelbarger Machining LLC, SMS Benefit Advisors, Humphrey Printing, Dr. Kurt Kingseed, RD Filip Inc., Wendy’s of Kokomo, Jansen’s Tax Service & Asphalt Sealing and VFW Post 1152.

“Thank you to all of the donors who grew our silent auction to 160 lots, and raised money for Bona Vista and all of our programs. On behalf of Bona Vista Programs, ‘Cheers’ to everyone who participated in the Greatest Spectacle in Tasting!”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll