Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 25, 2013

May 25, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Remembering Holly Kirkpatrick

Retired Kokomo teacher Miriam Bence, of Windfall, sends this Cheer for Holly Kirkpatrick:

“I want to thank and recognize several retired teachers of Kokomo-Center Schools. I won’t publicly name them for the loving care they gave to fellow teacher and friend, Holly Kirkpatrick.

“These teachers took care of Holly during her struggle with cancer. They were there to usher her into Heaven. Holly died last Nov. 25, 2012. These teachers took care of Holly’s personal belongings and treasured collections. Many of these items were in an estate auction May 16. These teachers handled her Buckley Moss and Patti Host paintings and prints with loving care.

“Holly was an excellent teacher at Sycamore Elementary School for many years. She had a long list of talents from which her students, co-workers and friends benefited. Holly was very generous and never expected anything in return.

“Holly was Kokomo-Center Schools’ teachers association president for many years. I was a building representative at Bon Air Elementary School for many years and had the honor to work with Holly. She helped me with personal concerns when my husband had cancer in 2001-2002. My retirement came during that time, and Holly walked me through all the procedures. Again, she was generous and compassionate.

“Kokomo-Center has a memorial education fund in Holly’s name to benefit students and teachers. To make a donation, write: Kokomo-Center Schools, 1500 S. Washington St., Kokomo, IN 46902, Attention of Deborah Vawter.

“Please remember Holly this Memorial Day. God bless.”

‘Greatest Spectacle’ raises $40,000

Brittnee Burton, director of development and public relations at Bona Vista Programs, sends this Cheer:

“Cheers to everyone who helped make the 19th annual Greatest Spectacle in Tasting a success! Presented by Soupley’s Wine & Spirits and Z92FIVE, this year’s Greatest Spectacle in Tasting raised well over $40,000 for children and adults at Bona Vista Programs.

“Thank you to the local restaurants that participated, to the volunteers who helped throughout the event, and to Loose Change for providing live entertainment.

“Thank you to this year’s sponsors: Liberty Financial Group, The DeHayes Group, Haynes International, Dr. Bill Grider, BMO Harris Bank, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Indiana Pest Control, JA Benefits LLC, The Hardie Group, Solidarity Community Federal Credit Union, City of Firsts Federal Credit Union, Community First Bank, Monroe Construction, Kokomo New Car Dealers Association, St. Joseph Hospital, Billy’s Auto Repair, Beckley’s Office Supplies, Blue & Co. LLC, Allied Benefits, Carney-Echelbarger Machining LLC, SMS Benefit Advisors, Humphrey Printing, Dr. Kurt Kingseed, RD Filip Inc., Wendy’s of Kokomo, Jansen’s Tax Service & Asphalt Sealing and VFW Post 1152.

“Thank you to all of the donors who grew our silent auction to 160 lots, and raised money for Bona Vista and all of our programs. On behalf of Bona Vista Programs, ‘Cheers’ to everyone who participated in the Greatest Spectacle in Tasting!”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll