Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 25, 2013

May 25, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Remembering Holly Kirkpatrick

Retired Kokomo teacher Miriam Bence, of Windfall, sends this Cheer for Holly Kirkpatrick:

“I want to thank and recognize several retired teachers of Kokomo-Center Schools. I won’t publicly name them for the loving care they gave to fellow teacher and friend, Holly Kirkpatrick.

“These teachers took care of Holly during her struggle with cancer. They were there to usher her into Heaven. Holly died last Nov. 25, 2012. These teachers took care of Holly’s personal belongings and treasured collections. Many of these items were in an estate auction May 16. These teachers handled her Buckley Moss and Patti Host paintings and prints with loving care.

“Holly was an excellent teacher at Sycamore Elementary School for many years. She had a long list of talents from which her students, co-workers and friends benefited. Holly was very generous and never expected anything in return.

“Holly was Kokomo-Center Schools’ teachers association president for many years. I was a building representative at Bon Air Elementary School for many years and had the honor to work with Holly. She helped me with personal concerns when my husband had cancer in 2001-2002. My retirement came during that time, and Holly walked me through all the procedures. Again, she was generous and compassionate.

“Kokomo-Center has a memorial education fund in Holly’s name to benefit students and teachers. To make a donation, write: Kokomo-Center Schools, 1500 S. Washington St., Kokomo, IN 46902, Attention of Deborah Vawter.

“Please remember Holly this Memorial Day. God bless.”

‘Greatest Spectacle’ raises $40,000

Brittnee Burton, director of development and public relations at Bona Vista Programs, sends this Cheer:

“Cheers to everyone who helped make the 19th annual Greatest Spectacle in Tasting a success! Presented by Soupley’s Wine & Spirits and Z92FIVE, this year’s Greatest Spectacle in Tasting raised well over $40,000 for children and adults at Bona Vista Programs.

“Thank you to the local restaurants that participated, to the volunteers who helped throughout the event, and to Loose Change for providing live entertainment.

“Thank you to this year’s sponsors: Liberty Financial Group, The DeHayes Group, Haynes International, Dr. Bill Grider, BMO Harris Bank, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Indiana Pest Control, JA Benefits LLC, The Hardie Group, Solidarity Community Federal Credit Union, City of Firsts Federal Credit Union, Community First Bank, Monroe Construction, Kokomo New Car Dealers Association, St. Joseph Hospital, Billy’s Auto Repair, Beckley’s Office Supplies, Blue & Co. LLC, Allied Benefits, Carney-Echelbarger Machining LLC, SMS Benefit Advisors, Humphrey Printing, Dr. Kurt Kingseed, RD Filip Inc., Wendy’s of Kokomo, Jansen’s Tax Service & Asphalt Sealing and VFW Post 1152.

“Thank you to all of the donors who grew our silent auction to 160 lots, and raised money for Bona Vista and all of our programs. On behalf of Bona Vista Programs, ‘Cheers’ to everyone who participated in the Greatest Spectacle in Tasting!”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll