Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 11, 2013

Heck urges students to stand for beliefs

Heck urges students to stand for beliefs

First off, I would like to say that I am a proud 2005 Eastern High School graduate. I had the honor of having Mr. Peter Heck as a teacher for not one, but two classes. I am a strong-headed Democrat in a very red state. I have one degree and am working on my second now. I am a female.

It angers me to see all the slander that is going on right now towards this man. What did he do wrong? Saying that the greatest job a woman can have is being a mother? Is he wrong? He also addressed the males, as well, but no one cares about that.

Mr. Heck did not ever once say I should not go on to be a college graduate, nor did he ever mention it in class. On the contrary, he told me to go on and to think about law school.

He wants everyone to be the best they can be. This is what he was getting across at the ceremony for this year’s graduating class. People are taking everything he said out of context and attacking him. At this point, I cannot sit by and let a wonderful man and teacher be attacked so.

To address those people saying they will rip they children out of Eastern, I ask you, why? You are taking them out of a wonderful school system, with a wonderful group of teachers who love their jobs and will pass their passion for learning on to your children. Do you really want to hurt your children that much?

I have no children of my own yet. When I do, I would want them to go to Eastern and to be taught by the best. I want them to learn lessons not only about the subjects they are required to learn, but about life itself. I want them, children of all ages, to be able to have teachers who care.

Mr. Heck is one of those teachers. He cares! And we as a community are slandering him because of what he said? What is more important in this life than having children and raising them with values and equipping them to face the world without you?

Just because he said “to the women,” that does not mean he is singling them out and telling them they should be home bodies only. He is letting them know that no matter how high they reach, the greatest job God has given them is to raise their own children (either by birth, marriage or adoption).

There needs to be no further “action” that is required here. Mr. Heck did nothing wrong. I will stand by him and support him. He taught me to stand up for things I believe in and never back down.

Mr. Heck, I’m applying that lesson right now.

Jennifer Hensley

Kokomo

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Chewing over news in bite-size vignettes Today, I am going to share a few "opinionettes" about current news items. Ready? Let's go! City prosperity The unemployment rate in the United States is down to 6.7 percent. This is its lowest level since October 2008. When I remember government effo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll