Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 30, 2013

Sept. 30, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

Change will not happen quickly. But it will begin when we change our thinking. It will begin when we raise boys to become men who respect their partners, when we treat our intimate partners as equals, when we tell someone when we see abuse and when we believe peaceful resolution rather than violence is the proper response.

Let’s all say “no more” to domestic violence. To learn more about domestic violence, discover how you can help and to find resources for victims, visit www.icadvinc.org.

Laura Berry

Coalition Against

Domestic Violence

Legislature should address ‘scooters’

On Sept. 5, ABATE of Indiana (American Bikers Aimed Toward Education) hosted a “Scooter Summit” at Speed City Cycle in Indianapolis. The intent of this meeting was to gather groups, individuals and agencies that have concerns related to the laws that pertain to the vehicles commonly referred to as “mo-peds” and identify ways that we can work together to make improvements. Although it may seem to be a simple matter of semantics, the inconsistencies regarding the definitions, and even the names (­motorized bicycle, scooter, mo-ped, motor-driven cycle, motor scooter) are a large part of the ­issue.

The rising number of fatalities and property damage crashes point to the need for some attention to these vehicles. The lack of a clear definition and the recommendation for the General Assembly to address this was the subject of an Indiana Supreme Court case, Indiana vs. Lock. Law enforcement agencies admit the problem is growing, as there is very little enforcement under current statute. The aforementioned factors have led a number of Indiana communities to enact local ordinances regulating the use of “scooters.” The problem with that is someone can travel from one jurisdiction to another without realizing the rules have changed. All of these are reasons that this issue should be addressed statewide by the Legislature.

The recent visit to Evansville by Indiana Speaker of the House Brian Bosma, to evaluate some of the challenges presented by these vehicles, should prove useful in offering more insight into the scope of this issue.

Jay Jackson

ABATE of Indiana

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll