Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 10, 2013

Oct. 10, 2013: Letters to the editor

GOP, not Dems, are‘in it’ for the nation

America has survived a week of the “government shutdown”. And to be vindictive, President Obama is turning off Amber Alerts since closing national parks didn’t cause enough pain.

It has been reported 83 percent of the government was still operating, and now that federal employees will be getting back pay, they can return. By my estimate the percentage of the government operating will go up to more than 92 percent, including park rangers who are blocking the WWII Memorial and scenic overlooks near national parks.

Both sides in this argument are being childish to an extent, but to claim Obamacare — or the misnamed Affordable Care Act — is the law of the land and cannot be detracted by any negotiations is a bald-faced lie. Already it is not the bill Congress passed and was signed into law.

There have been more than 1,300 waivers granted, delays that were not in the law when the Supremes gave it a stamp of approval. So don’t tell me the House has no right to ask for a modification. Remember, this is a law that is so important to the future of America, Nancy Pelosi couldn’t read it and it’s the legacy of our president (the real reason for no negotiations). Obamacare will not apply to 1,300 organizations and the United States Congress, which always exempts itself from the rules it gives to us peons.

If you remember, slavery was the law of the land and approved by the Supreme Courts of those days. Funny that got changed. Politics, by its very nature, is all about negotiations, and we see the real reasons the Democrats won’t negotiate.

Numero uno, Obamacare has been described as Obama’s baby, and you don’t negotiate with your baby. And No. 2, which is almost as important, is Democrats have made the political calculation they and the media can hurt the Republicans more than they think they will be hurt. So before you place sole blame on the doorstep of the GOP, look at what the Dems have done.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll