Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

December 26, 2012

3-dog nights imperil dogs

The issue: Care of outdoor pets.

Our view: In weather such as this, keep dogs and cats inside. Low temperatures, winds and snow can lead to illness and death.

It could’ve been a concerned citizen. It could’ve been someone looking for a laugh. Little information was available concerning a would-be animal rescue in the tiny town of Center nearly five years ago.

Emergency officials were dispatched just before 4 p.m. Feb. 6, 2008, to an area across from Taylor Intermediate School. The caller said a dog chained to a tree with water up to its neck was in need of rescue. Upon arrival, responders found the concrete bulldog statue wasn’t too upset with its situation.

The “rescue” that day made for an amusing photo. But there’s nothing funny about pets left outside during cold, snowy days like those we’ve experienced this week.

If you know a family who keeps their pet outdoors, persuade them to bring it inside. Low temperatures, winds and snow can lead to illness and death.

This warning is for both dogs and cats. Felines that spend time outside can freeze.

Here are some tips to protect dogs in cold weather we gleaned from the Partnership for Animal Welfare:

• Coats and booties can help your dog stay warm while outside. In particular, short-haired or older dogs benefit from wearing a coat or sweater.

• Sick or older dogs are sensitive to cold weather. Take them outside only for “bathroom breaks.”

• Clip the fur between toe pads to reduce the amount of snow that collects between toes.

• Coat sensitive paws with a little cooking spray before walks in cold weather.

• Use fatty acid supplements during the winter to help skin and coat.

• Do not let dogs off their leash in snow or ice. Canines can panic in snowstorms and run away. More dogs are reported lost in winter than any other season.

Remember, on days preceding and following three-dog nights, we need to take special care of our dogs.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll