Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

December 26, 2012

3-dog nights imperil dogs

The issue: Care of outdoor pets.

Our view: In weather such as this, keep dogs and cats inside. Low temperatures, winds and snow can lead to illness and death.

It could’ve been a concerned citizen. It could’ve been someone looking for a laugh. Little information was available concerning a would-be animal rescue in the tiny town of Center nearly five years ago.

Emergency officials were dispatched just before 4 p.m. Feb. 6, 2008, to an area across from Taylor Intermediate School. The caller said a dog chained to a tree with water up to its neck was in need of rescue. Upon arrival, responders found the concrete bulldog statue wasn’t too upset with its situation.

The “rescue” that day made for an amusing photo. But there’s nothing funny about pets left outside during cold, snowy days like those we’ve experienced this week.

If you know a family who keeps their pet outdoors, persuade them to bring it inside. Low temperatures, winds and snow can lead to illness and death.

This warning is for both dogs and cats. Felines that spend time outside can freeze.

Here are some tips to protect dogs in cold weather we gleaned from the Partnership for Animal Welfare:

• Coats and booties can help your dog stay warm while outside. In particular, short-haired or older dogs benefit from wearing a coat or sweater.

• Sick or older dogs are sensitive to cold weather. Take them outside only for “bathroom breaks.”

• Clip the fur between toe pads to reduce the amount of snow that collects between toes.

• Coat sensitive paws with a little cooking spray before walks in cold weather.

• Use fatty acid supplements during the winter to help skin and coat.

• Do not let dogs off their leash in snow or ice. Canines can panic in snowstorms and run away. More dogs are reported lost in winter than any other season.

Remember, on days preceding and following three-dog nights, we need to take special care of our dogs.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll