Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 9, 2013

Don’t blow it, lawmakers

The issue: The state of Indiana’s firm financial standing.

Our view: Now’s not the time to go on a spending spree and undo what’s been done to get us here.

The news is good in Indiana. We’ve got more than $1 billion in new revenue and another $2 billion in reserves. We’re sure that news was met with a giant sigh of relief for the Indiana lawmakers starting their 2013 session this week. That takes a lot of pressure off as they begin work on a new two-year budget.

Not too much pressure we hope.

Many are telling us to not worry. We don’t expect a spending spree, they say.

Pardon us for still planning to watch budget talks through our hands.

We encourage lawmakers to be optimistic about our state’s fiscal future, but not so much so they think they’re clear for a spending takeoff. For now, we’ll remain cautiously optimistic they’ll treat this coveted position we find ourselves in with the respect it deserves.

They must continue the fiscal conservativeness that got us in this position in the first place. Now, we implore them, is not the time to casually undo everything that’s been done.

To hear Rep. Tim Brown, R-Crawfordsville, tell it, there needs to be “strategic restorations of what we’ve had to cut in the past.” We’ll watch closely what those “strategic restorations” will be when lawmakers are called upon to make the tough decisions. They’ll come sooner rather than later as the wolf’s already at the door.

Some are calling for a 7.5 percent increase for the state’s universities, and public schools are crying for more money. We don’t claim to know the right answers this early in the game and wouldn’t expect lawmakers to know them either.

While we wait, though, we think Senate appropriations chairman Luke Kenley, R-Noblesville, has the right idea.

“Lawmakers have worked hard in recent years to put our fiscal house in order, and we must continue down that path in 2013. ... We want to continue to stimulate job growth while, at the same time, guarding against future economic instability.”

We couldn’t agree more.

We got here because of a conscious, concerted effort. We can’t afford to go about the next budget willy-nilly and start spending hard-earned cash just because we can. If we do, we will not only cause ourselves to lose our firm fiscal standing, but we’ll also set ourselves up to not return to it anytime soon.

Let’s all hope that doesn’t happen.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll