Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 9, 2013

Don’t blow it, lawmakers

The issue: The state of Indiana’s firm financial standing.

Our view: Now’s not the time to go on a spending spree and undo what’s been done to get us here.

The news is good in Indiana. We’ve got more than $1 billion in new revenue and another $2 billion in reserves. We’re sure that news was met with a giant sigh of relief for the Indiana lawmakers starting their 2013 session this week. That takes a lot of pressure off as they begin work on a new two-year budget.

Not too much pressure we hope.

Many are telling us to not worry. We don’t expect a spending spree, they say.

Pardon us for still planning to watch budget talks through our hands.

We encourage lawmakers to be optimistic about our state’s fiscal future, but not so much so they think they’re clear for a spending takeoff. For now, we’ll remain cautiously optimistic they’ll treat this coveted position we find ourselves in with the respect it deserves.

They must continue the fiscal conservativeness that got us in this position in the first place. Now, we implore them, is not the time to casually undo everything that’s been done.

To hear Rep. Tim Brown, R-Crawfordsville, tell it, there needs to be “strategic restorations of what we’ve had to cut in the past.” We’ll watch closely what those “strategic restorations” will be when lawmakers are called upon to make the tough decisions. They’ll come sooner rather than later as the wolf’s already at the door.

Some are calling for a 7.5 percent increase for the state’s universities, and public schools are crying for more money. We don’t claim to know the right answers this early in the game and wouldn’t expect lawmakers to know them either.

While we wait, though, we think Senate appropriations chairman Luke Kenley, R-Noblesville, has the right idea.

“Lawmakers have worked hard in recent years to put our fiscal house in order, and we must continue down that path in 2013. ... We want to continue to stimulate job growth while, at the same time, guarding against future economic instability.”

We couldn’t agree more.

We got here because of a conscious, concerted effort. We can’t afford to go about the next budget willy-nilly and start spending hard-earned cash just because we can. If we do, we will not only cause ourselves to lose our firm fiscal standing, but we’ll also set ourselves up to not return to it anytime soon.

Let’s all hope that doesn’t happen.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll