Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 24, 2013

Fletcher: Our donors are the true ‘Goodfellows’

Thanks to all who contributed to the annual fundraiser

Not having children of my own is one of the reasons I began volunteering for Goodfellows more than 10 years ago.

I’ve had stepchildren in the past and always cherished seeing the smiles on the kids’ faces as they tore into their Christmas presents.

So when I realized there were kids out there who were not having that kind of Christmas experience, I had to get involved with Goodfellows.

Seeing the happy and relieved faces of parents as they shop each year as part of the organization is priceless.

Started by Kokomo Tribune employees in 1911 and made up of volunteers, Goodfellows spends more than $100,000 annually on clothing for needy children, with the majority of donations coming from WWKI’s We Care program and individual donations.

With that in mind, I want to send a special thanks to all the people who donated this year to this Christmas-oriented fundraiser.

Money raised from donations to the Tribune from November to January totaled $10,622.68.

With the way the economy has been going, that just illustrates the generosity of our community. No matter how bad it gets, people still care and continue to donate.

Along with the $105,000 donated from We Care, Goodfellows has more than $115,000 to go toward shopping for 2013 recipients.

Thanks to all the regular donors, new donors and all the volunteers who make this fundraiser what it is today.

As I’ve reported before, Tribune employees started the fundraiser in 1911 to help make Christmas a little better for the less fortunate.

And over the years, that gift-giving tradition has grown, thanks to people like Goodfellows director and Center Township Trustee Jean Lushin, all the board members and volunteers.

We helped more than 1,500 kids this year, thanks to all the people who donated to We Care and folks like Gordon B. Riley, owner of Specialty Tool & Die, who donated $1,500; an anonymous donation of $1,000 in memory of the late L. Owen Bolinger; and to all of the regular donors who sent monetary gifts for the program to the Kokomo Tribune.

In addition, I want to thank Ned’s Corner Pub, Meijer, Martino’s, Rite Quality and Ann Wiles for donating lunches for the volunteers during the registration process, and thanks to Meijer for once again allowing us to shop in the store.

As a reminder for those in need, we will be taking applications for this year’s shopping in November. Mark it on your calender.

Mike Fletcher covers police and courts for the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at mike.fletcher@kokomotribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll