Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 24, 2013

Fletcher: Our donors are the true ‘Goodfellows’

Thanks to all who contributed to the annual fundraiser

Not having children of my own is one of the reasons I began volunteering for Goodfellows more than 10 years ago.

I’ve had stepchildren in the past and always cherished seeing the smiles on the kids’ faces as they tore into their Christmas presents.

So when I realized there were kids out there who were not having that kind of Christmas experience, I had to get involved with Goodfellows.

Seeing the happy and relieved faces of parents as they shop each year as part of the organization is priceless.

Started by Kokomo Tribune employees in 1911 and made up of volunteers, Goodfellows spends more than $100,000 annually on clothing for needy children, with the majority of donations coming from WWKI’s We Care program and individual donations.

With that in mind, I want to send a special thanks to all the people who donated this year to this Christmas-oriented fundraiser.

Money raised from donations to the Tribune from November to January totaled $10,622.68.

With the way the economy has been going, that just illustrates the generosity of our community. No matter how bad it gets, people still care and continue to donate.

Along with the $105,000 donated from We Care, Goodfellows has more than $115,000 to go toward shopping for 2013 recipients.

Thanks to all the regular donors, new donors and all the volunteers who make this fundraiser what it is today.

As I’ve reported before, Tribune employees started the fundraiser in 1911 to help make Christmas a little better for the less fortunate.

And over the years, that gift-giving tradition has grown, thanks to people like Goodfellows director and Center Township Trustee Jean Lushin, all the board members and volunteers.

We helped more than 1,500 kids this year, thanks to all the people who donated to We Care and folks like Gordon B. Riley, owner of Specialty Tool & Die, who donated $1,500; an anonymous donation of $1,000 in memory of the late L. Owen Bolinger; and to all of the regular donors who sent monetary gifts for the program to the Kokomo Tribune.

In addition, I want to thank Ned’s Corner Pub, Meijer, Martino’s, Rite Quality and Ann Wiles for donating lunches for the volunteers during the registration process, and thanks to Meijer for once again allowing us to shop in the store.

As a reminder for those in need, we will be taking applications for this year’s shopping in November. Mark it on your calender.

Mike Fletcher covers police and courts for the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at mike.fletcher@kokomotribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Kangaroo Rescued From Swimming Pool Raw: 3 American Doctors Killed in Afghanistan Raw: Obama Arrives at State Dinner in Tokyo Raw: Obama Plays Soccer With Japanese Robot Raw: Obama Visits Meiji Shrine in Tokyo Stars Talk Guns N' Roses at Golden Gods New Pictures of Ship That Sank in 1888 Oregon Gay Marriage Ban Goes to Court SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye'
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll