Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 24, 2013

Fletcher: Our donors are the true ‘Goodfellows’

Thanks to all who contributed to the annual fundraiser

Not having children of my own is one of the reasons I began volunteering for Goodfellows more than 10 years ago.

I’ve had stepchildren in the past and always cherished seeing the smiles on the kids’ faces as they tore into their Christmas presents.

So when I realized there were kids out there who were not having that kind of Christmas experience, I had to get involved with Goodfellows.

Seeing the happy and relieved faces of parents as they shop each year as part of the organization is priceless.

Started by Kokomo Tribune employees in 1911 and made up of volunteers, Goodfellows spends more than $100,000 annually on clothing for needy children, with the majority of donations coming from WWKI’s We Care program and individual donations.

With that in mind, I want to send a special thanks to all the people who donated this year to this Christmas-oriented fundraiser.

Money raised from donations to the Tribune from November to January totaled $10,622.68.

With the way the economy has been going, that just illustrates the generosity of our community. No matter how bad it gets, people still care and continue to donate.

Along with the $105,000 donated from We Care, Goodfellows has more than $115,000 to go toward shopping for 2013 recipients.

Thanks to all the regular donors, new donors and all the volunteers who make this fundraiser what it is today.

As I’ve reported before, Tribune employees started the fundraiser in 1911 to help make Christmas a little better for the less fortunate.

And over the years, that gift-giving tradition has grown, thanks to people like Goodfellows director and Center Township Trustee Jean Lushin, all the board members and volunteers.

We helped more than 1,500 kids this year, thanks to all the people who donated to We Care and folks like Gordon B. Riley, owner of Specialty Tool & Die, who donated $1,500; an anonymous donation of $1,000 in memory of the late L. Owen Bolinger; and to all of the regular donors who sent monetary gifts for the program to the Kokomo Tribune.

In addition, I want to thank Ned’s Corner Pub, Meijer, Martino’s, Rite Quality and Ann Wiles for donating lunches for the volunteers during the registration process, and thanks to Meijer for once again allowing us to shop in the store.

As a reminder for those in need, we will be taking applications for this year’s shopping in November. Mark it on your calender.

Mike Fletcher covers police and courts for the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at mike.fletcher@kokomotribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll