Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 25, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Jan. 25, 2013

Parents must parent and be role models

I agree with Mr. Jim Richardson about those who can work but choose not to. I am one of those who gladly take an $8 to $10 an hour job.

I work in the education sector. I try to be a good employee, work hard, smile and I am neat and clean. I am also a single mother of two children, one with a disability.

I do not live off the government or receive any assistance. I took the job I have now eight years ago in order to raise my children, set good examples and be a good role model and parent. My ambition after my last child graduates is to someday finish my college education, but for the time being I take what I can get as far as a job and do not live beyond my means.

Please don’t get me wrong; I am for helping disabled veterans and those who really need it. I think when Mr. Richardson stated the generation of men and women who call themselves entrepreneurs, meaning the more children they have the more they receive in government help, is so true. Somehow this cycle has to stop!

What kind of example are they setting for their children when they see their parents sitting at home watching reality television, playing video games or talking and texting on their iPhones while living off welfare? It starts at home. Parents need to be parents and set good examples as role models — if not a parent, then another family member, friend, or go volunteer somewhere in order to help those in need.

Gov. Pence, in his State of the State address, said he wants to put Hoosiers back to work and make Indiana first in job creation, education and quality of life. I hope and pray he is able to do this so those who do sit and receive government assistance and are perfectly capable of working are able to get out of the cycle of government handouts; help people prosper, grow and have self-esteem. We need to get back to good morals and values and teach these to our children at home and school.

People need to wake up and see the direction our government is taking. “We the People” need to take a stand and not let Big Government take over. Our leaders are greedy, have weak values and do get in the way of what is right for our country.

We can’t set back as Americans and let other countries become stronger then the United States. We are the greatest country in the world.

My kudos go to Mr. Richardson for being a business owner and his ideas. I would gladly take some of his responsibility with a smile and a good attitude.

And yes, as he states, “Do Not Feed the Bears” because if we make them dependent, then, yes, there will always be victims of the system.

Cheryl Guyer, Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll