Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 25, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Jan. 25, 2013

Parents must parent and be role models

I agree with Mr. Jim Richardson about those who can work but choose not to. I am one of those who gladly take an $8 to $10 an hour job.

I work in the education sector. I try to be a good employee, work hard, smile and I am neat and clean. I am also a single mother of two children, one with a disability.

I do not live off the government or receive any assistance. I took the job I have now eight years ago in order to raise my children, set good examples and be a good role model and parent. My ambition after my last child graduates is to someday finish my college education, but for the time being I take what I can get as far as a job and do not live beyond my means.

Please don’t get me wrong; I am for helping disabled veterans and those who really need it. I think when Mr. Richardson stated the generation of men and women who call themselves entrepreneurs, meaning the more children they have the more they receive in government help, is so true. Somehow this cycle has to stop!

What kind of example are they setting for their children when they see their parents sitting at home watching reality television, playing video games or talking and texting on their iPhones while living off welfare? It starts at home. Parents need to be parents and set good examples as role models — if not a parent, then another family member, friend, or go volunteer somewhere in order to help those in need.

Gov. Pence, in his State of the State address, said he wants to put Hoosiers back to work and make Indiana first in job creation, education and quality of life. I hope and pray he is able to do this so those who do sit and receive government assistance and are perfectly capable of working are able to get out of the cycle of government handouts; help people prosper, grow and have self-esteem. We need to get back to good morals and values and teach these to our children at home and school.

People need to wake up and see the direction our government is taking. “We the People” need to take a stand and not let Big Government take over. Our leaders are greedy, have weak values and do get in the way of what is right for our country.

We can’t set back as Americans and let other countries become stronger then the United States. We are the greatest country in the world.

My kudos go to Mr. Richardson for being a business owner and his ideas. I would gladly take some of his responsibility with a smile and a good attitude.

And yes, as he states, “Do Not Feed the Bears” because if we make them dependent, then, yes, there will always be victims of the system.

Cheryl Guyer, Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll