Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 26, 2013

Day: Computers can’t replace our teachers

The times change while we drift along with our thoughts of how to better ourselves, both in a comfortable and secure way, so that our children can live in a world without fear.

As a child at Willard School, we learned the traditional curricula of math, English and history. The teachers were good ones. Their hands were not tied down by the rules of today, brought forth by people who care less about teachers and students, and elected on a platform of universal change throughout the teaching profession.

In schools today, at least here in Indiana, we are setting our young folk up on using the computer instead of using the everyday subjects of my time. It is my contention that computers are OK as a way to bring forth another way of education.

Now, I am not saying computers should not be used. But my fear is that one day the computer networks will go down and not come back up for some time. If that happens, where would we be? The long-ago events in my memory are not in those who lean on computer use for the answers.

I say that people who come from the old school would want to keep the basics of learning to the books and the teachers who teach the classes. Thank goodness, we gave our notice of get-out-and-don’t-come-back in the recent election.

When I was in grade school, we participated in classroom discussion, blackboard work for the rest of the class, and homework to take home. Parents made sure that children did their homework before going to bed.

What you learned from the classroom discussion came into being with the homework taken home. Classes were ready to go as soon as the kids got seated. If there was someone in class that might be a little less inclined to do their work at home, they were kept after school and parents were notified the child was to be picked up later.

What I am getting at is that we can’t depend on using the computer as the main tool of teaching. That is what teachers are for. Does anyone with common sense think that computers can do the jobs of well-educated teachers?

Oh sure, I work on the computer maybe three hours a day, but it is to increase the knowledge of happenings that go on in the present time and not that of the history of our world. As one who uses a computer, I taught myself through trial and error to work it, but I don’t rely on it to be my only way to refreshen my mind of the things that made our country great. I would not have been able to do that if my early training was not brought forth by well-educated teachers who put pride into their work and got the most out of their students.

There are those out there who can’t master the use of a computer, so where would they be without having their primary education given to them by good teachers? If someone asks me what the Bill of Rights is, do I go to the computer or do I dig down into my memory bank to get the answers that were taught to me by human beings?

Don’t get me wrong, folks. The computer has a place in today’s world, but not to replace teachers who don’t have to push buttons for the answers. That is what our God gave us, a mind to use and to keep the answers in. I hope that we continue to get great teachers and fewer computers.

Ray “Uncle Ray” Day of Kokomo is a weekly contributor to the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at uncleray@earthlink.net.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll