Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 27, 2013

Use your headlamps

THE ISSUE: Driving in fog, rain or snow.

OUR VIEW: Watch for other drivers and ensure they see you. Turn on your headlights.

Indiana motorists rank seventh in the nation in driving knowledge, according to the 2011 GMAC Insurance National Drivers Test — unchanged from 2010 but a vast improvement from 2009, when Hoosiers were a middle-of-the-pack 22nd.

2011 was the seventh year for the survey, which polled more than 5,000 licensed drivers from all 50 states. It found that 18 percent of motorists would not pass a written drivers test.

Kansas drivers were tops in the nation with an average score of 82.9 percent on the 20-question exam. District of Columbia motorists were dead last with an average score of 71.8 percent. Scores of 70 or lower would receive an “F” — as New York drivers did in 2010.

GMAC said test-takers continue to have difficulty with questions concerning yellow lights and safe following distances. It’s our experience that many local drivers don’t know when to switch on their headlamps.

It’s a habit that creates dangerous driving conditions.

Question 19 of the GMAC National Drivers Test – which you can take online at www.nationaldriverstest.com – asks, “In bad weather, you should make your car easier for others to see by:

“A. Turning on your headlights

“B. Turning on your emergency lights

“C. Turning on your parking lights

“D. Flash your high beams”

The correct answer is “A,” of course. You probably knew that. So explain to us why many area motorists don’t turn on their lights in fog, rain or snow? On our way to work Friday morning, we noticed several drivers hadn’t bothered to turn on their headlamps.

They could see the road just fine, apparently, but we had trouble seeing them.

The National Weather Service forecasts freezing rain tonight, and showers through Tuesday. Driving through such precipitation can be hazardous. When driving in fog, rain or snow, watch for other drivers and ensure they see you.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll