Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 29, 2013

Consider insurance

THE ISSUE: The strong possibility for flooding today.

OUR VIEW: If you haven’t yet, it’s a good time to investigate buying flood insurance. Remember, everyone lives in a flood zone.

Very heavy rain will fall across the Kokomo area tonight, as a strong cold front moves across Indiana, the National Weather Service warns.

Beginning tonight, up to 3 inches of rain is possible through Wednesday morning. That will cause dramatic rises to area creeks and streams, the weather service forecasts.

Couple the expected rainfall with melting snow and the rain we’ve already received, and the possibility for flooding in lowland areas is strong.

Fortunately, all the recent precipitation has fallen over several days, not in a single, hours-long downpour. But think back just 10 years ago.

More than 9 inches of rain fell overnight in Kokomo July 4 and 5, 2003.

Three feet of water flooded the basement of St. Joseph Hospital. Many Indian Heights residents were stranded by water. Dozens of families called emergency personnel for assistance.

The Kokomo Fire Department had a four-page list of places it visited within a 24-hour period.

Could it happen again someday? The Federal Emergency Management Agency says yes.

Floods are the No. 1 disaster in the United States. Your home has a 26 percent chance of being damaged by a flood during the course of a 30-year mortgage, compared to a 9 percent chance of fire.

Most homeowners insurance doesn’t cover flood damage. If you haven’t yet, consider participation in the National Flood Insurance Program. Here’s why:

Federal disaster assistance comes as a loan that must be paid back with interest. According to FEMA, a $50,000 loan at 4 percent interest would be about $240 a month for 30 years.

A $100,000 flood insurance premium is about $33 a month.

For information about the National Flood Insurance Program, an assessment of your home’s flood risk, premium estimates and participating area agents, log on to www.floodsmart.gov. You also can call toll-free at 888-379-9531.

Remember this FEMA warning: Everyone lives in a flood zone.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll