Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 30, 2013

House of Burgess: Success is sweetest revenge of all

I like Jonathan Coulton and I cannot lie

My list of personal heroes now has a new entry: singer/songwriter Jonathan Coulton. I have always enjoyed his skewed take on geeky folk rock, but his latest move just put him over the top. Here’s the whole sordid affair in a timeline. It gets meta quickly:

• Feb. 4, 1992 — Seattle-based MC/producer Sir Mix-a-Lot releases his third album, “Mack Daddy”, containing the single “Baby Got Back” — an ode to oversized female posteriors. Just as he raps atop two giant faux cheeks in the accompanying video, the song similarly tops the Billboard Hot 100 chart for five weeks, winning the Grammy for Best Rap Solo Performance the following year.

• Aug. 31, 2006 — Coulton releases the first of four “Thing a Week” albums, culled from his weekly podcast in which he recorded a new song within a week, every week for a year. “Thing a Week One” is Coulton’s fourth album, and contains his subdued, folky rendition of “Baby Got Back”.

• Jan. 18, 2013 — Coulton discovers Fox TV show “Glee” will feature a note-for-note ripoff of his “Baby Got Back” cover for an upcoming episode. Via Twitter, Coulton says the show never contacted him and “may have even used parts of my recording.” Alex Anders, music producer for “Glee”, tweets: “Some people can’t see opportunity when it smacks them in the face.” Coulton tweets back: “Actually, I’m pretty sure I felt the smack.”

• Thursday — Fox airs the 11th episode of its fourth season of “Glee”, entitled “Sadie Hawkins”. The sixth and final song featured is the “Baby Got Back” ripoff, sung by cast member Oliver Kieran Jones. “Glee” also begins selling the pilfered arrangement on iTunes.

• Friday — Coulton posts to his website that “Glee” contacted him and said “they’re within their legal rights ... and that I should be happy for the exposure (even though they do not credit me, and have not even publicly acknowledged that it’s my version — so you know, it’s kind of SECRET exposure).” [Editor’s note: Time out. Image you’re Coulton here. What’s you move? Don’t worry, I’ll wait. Got it? Good. Game on.]

• Saturday — Coulton releases a single on iTunes entitled “Baby Got Back (In the Style of Glee)” which is “a cover of Glee’s cover of my cover of Sir Mix-a-Lot’s song, which is to say it’s EXACTLY THE SAME as my original version.” Coulton pledges to donate profits from the song to The It Gets Better Project and The VH1 Save the Music Foundation, “two great causes that are directly related to the ‘Glee’ brand.”

• Sunday — Sales on iTunes of “Baby Got Back (In the Style of Glee)” overtake all six of the songs from the “Sadie Hawkins” episode. At 7 p.m., the song sits at No. 2 on the Singer/Songwriter chart and No. 104 of all songs on iTunes. “Charity check is going to be huge,” tweets Coulton.

This case is a lesson in copyright law and aplomb. When Coulton released his cover of “Baby Got Back”, he bought the statutory license from the Harry Fox Agency, which collects and distributes license fees to artists like Sir Mix-a-Lot. Presumably, “Glee” paid the same agency. However, anything Coulton added was his property. “I wrote a new melody for it, which this recording uses,” Coulton wrote on his website Jan. 18. This is standard operating procedure for “Glee” — Coulton is just the latest. As compiled by The Daily Dot’s Michelle Jaworski, “Glee” has “covered” covers of: “Yeah!” by Usher (feat. Ludacris and Lil’ John) (originally covered by Divisi); “Girls Just Want to Have Fun” by Cyndi Lauper (originally covered by Greg Laswell); and DJ Earworm’s mashup of “Fly” by Nicki Minaj (feat. Rihanna) and “I Believe I Can Fly” by R. Kelly. Probably others, too. “Glee” is supposed to champion the outcasts of the New Directions glee club, but its shameless theft sounds more like villain Sue Sylvester. Actually, Coulton is the hero and “Glee” the bully. I think Coulton should still lawyer up, but for now, he’s won. Go to www.jonathancoulton.com and spend 99 cents on “Baby Got Back (In the Style of Glee)”. I did. It’s great. (Probably why “Glee” nabbed it, eh?) Plus, you’ll be supporting two very worthy causes. And that, ladies and gentlemen, is pure class.

Rob Burgess, Tribune night editor, may be reached by calling 765-454-8577, via email at rob.burgess@kokomotribune.com or on Twitter at www.twitter.com/robaburg.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll