Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 30, 2013

House of Burgess: Success is sweetest revenge of all

I like Jonathan Coulton and I cannot lie

My list of personal heroes now has a new entry: singer/songwriter Jonathan Coulton. I have always enjoyed his skewed take on geeky folk rock, but his latest move just put him over the top. Here’s the whole sordid affair in a timeline. It gets meta quickly:

• Feb. 4, 1992 — Seattle-based MC/producer Sir Mix-a-Lot releases his third album, “Mack Daddy”, containing the single “Baby Got Back” — an ode to oversized female posteriors. Just as he raps atop two giant faux cheeks in the accompanying video, the song similarly tops the Billboard Hot 100 chart for five weeks, winning the Grammy for Best Rap Solo Performance the following year.

• Aug. 31, 2006 — Coulton releases the first of four “Thing a Week” albums, culled from his weekly podcast in which he recorded a new song within a week, every week for a year. “Thing a Week One” is Coulton’s fourth album, and contains his subdued, folky rendition of “Baby Got Back”.

• Jan. 18, 2013 — Coulton discovers Fox TV show “Glee” will feature a note-for-note ripoff of his “Baby Got Back” cover for an upcoming episode. Via Twitter, Coulton says the show never contacted him and “may have even used parts of my recording.” Alex Anders, music producer for “Glee”, tweets: “Some people can’t see opportunity when it smacks them in the face.” Coulton tweets back: “Actually, I’m pretty sure I felt the smack.”

• Thursday — Fox airs the 11th episode of its fourth season of “Glee”, entitled “Sadie Hawkins”. The sixth and final song featured is the “Baby Got Back” ripoff, sung by cast member Oliver Kieran Jones. “Glee” also begins selling the pilfered arrangement on iTunes.

• Friday — Coulton posts to his website that “Glee” contacted him and said “they’re within their legal rights ... and that I should be happy for the exposure (even though they do not credit me, and have not even publicly acknowledged that it’s my version — so you know, it’s kind of SECRET exposure).” [Editor’s note: Time out. Image you’re Coulton here. What’s you move? Don’t worry, I’ll wait. Got it? Good. Game on.]

• Saturday — Coulton releases a single on iTunes entitled “Baby Got Back (In the Style of Glee)” which is “a cover of Glee’s cover of my cover of Sir Mix-a-Lot’s song, which is to say it’s EXACTLY THE SAME as my original version.” Coulton pledges to donate profits from the song to The It Gets Better Project and The VH1 Save the Music Foundation, “two great causes that are directly related to the ‘Glee’ brand.”

• Sunday — Sales on iTunes of “Baby Got Back (In the Style of Glee)” overtake all six of the songs from the “Sadie Hawkins” episode. At 7 p.m., the song sits at No. 2 on the Singer/Songwriter chart and No. 104 of all songs on iTunes. “Charity check is going to be huge,” tweets Coulton.

This case is a lesson in copyright law and aplomb. When Coulton released his cover of “Baby Got Back”, he bought the statutory license from the Harry Fox Agency, which collects and distributes license fees to artists like Sir Mix-a-Lot. Presumably, “Glee” paid the same agency. However, anything Coulton added was his property. “I wrote a new melody for it, which this recording uses,” Coulton wrote on his website Jan. 18. This is standard operating procedure for “Glee” — Coulton is just the latest. As compiled by The Daily Dot’s Michelle Jaworski, “Glee” has “covered” covers of: “Yeah!” by Usher (feat. Ludacris and Lil’ John) (originally covered by Divisi); “Girls Just Want to Have Fun” by Cyndi Lauper (originally covered by Greg Laswell); and DJ Earworm’s mashup of “Fly” by Nicki Minaj (feat. Rihanna) and “I Believe I Can Fly” by R. Kelly. Probably others, too. “Glee” is supposed to champion the outcasts of the New Directions glee club, but its shameless theft sounds more like villain Sue Sylvester. Actually, Coulton is the hero and “Glee” the bully. I think Coulton should still lawyer up, but for now, he’s won. Go to www.jonathancoulton.com and spend 99 cents on “Baby Got Back (In the Style of Glee)”. I did. It’s great. (Probably why “Glee” nabbed it, eh?) Plus, you’ll be supporting two very worthy causes. And that, ladies and gentlemen, is pure class.

Rob Burgess, Tribune night editor, may be reached by calling 765-454-8577, via email at rob.burgess@kokomotribune.com or on Twitter at www.twitter.com/robaburg.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Let's hope 7th Circuit sides with couples Let’s hope 7th Circuit sides with couplesIf you blinked over the past month, you probably missed some news about marriage equality in Indiana.First, a federal court ruled that the state’s ban on marriage for same-sex couples was unconstitutional, whi

    July 23, 2014

  • CECIL BOHANON: Spend down surplus? Been there, done that Back in 1998, the state of Indiana had more than $1.3 billion in surplus funds in its general account. This was about 57 days of state spending. The state had total surplus funds of more than $2 billion that was over 24 percent of its annual operatin

    July 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush? Clinton? Next, please

    Here comes a sentence I don’t usually find myself typing: I agree with Barbara Bush on something. Jan. 20, C-SPAN aired her installment in the series “First Ladies: Influence and Image,” which was filmed at Bush’s Houston home. “Do you think there is room for another Bush in The White House?” asked host Peter Slen. “This is a great American country, a great country, and if we can’t find more than two or three families to run for high office, that’s silly, because there are great governors and great eligible people to run,” said Bush. “I think Kennedys, Clintons, Bushes; there are just more families than that.”

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll