Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 5, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 5, 2013

Will GOP again trust Democrats’ promise?

As we begin the immigration debate, it would be nice if we heard something new. Like “Groundhog Day,” it’s deja vu all over again. This is the third time in recent memory we have dealt with immigration and, like before, it is the same actions.

The GOP is full of cold, heartless SOBs who are white, rich racists — this is a good debating technique. That alone will make me say, let them all in and let’s do it again in 10 years. And that is the rub. Our history is as an immigrant nation, but always lost in that is people did it legally.

We could discuss the economic issues, the pros and cons of immigration reform, but let’s just get to the chase. Will the GOP portion of the Gang of 8 be naive and once again trust a promise by the Democrats? What’s the promise? If you allow the illegal immigrants to have amnesty, we will protect the borders soon, we promise. Reagan trusted O’Neil, nothing happened. Bush trusted Pelosi, nothing happened. Obama has his pen uncapped, but hopefully the Senate Republicans have even a short memory and are not suckers again. Because if they bite, 11 million will be added to Obama’s Gimme Economy and, within another decade, there will be 11 million more people making us feel “guilty and uncaring.”

I don’t blame the people who have come here, and you cannot deny the fact the economy has used many of them, but the point is nowhere else in the world would a country allow a porous border and use as its solution to naturalize the immigrants when they become too many to ignore.

I guess it is just, “Let’s be full of compassion and forget about borders and open them wide.” Welcome now and in the future.

Mike Moran, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Test needs less weight There's growing concern among school officials that computer problems could return with next week's ISTEP exams. Students in Zionsville reported computers freezing while taking practice tests Monday and Tuesday, the district's technology officer, Pat

    April 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Wallace for Center Twp board; honest gov't in Tipton Co.? Open, honest gov't in Tipton County? Seeing Tipton County Commissioner Phil Heron's campaign ad stating he is committed to open and honest government made me think of an issue that occurred in 2011 and 2012. I have researched the facts, which can all

    April 25, 2014

  • OPN - KT042514 - mike lewis mug MIKE LEWIS: Covering closed reports Part of nearly every sentencing hearing is closed to the public. We can be there to cover it for you, but we won't know about an important part of it. That's not the fault of reporters, local judges, prosecuting attorneys or defense lawyers. It's a w

    April 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Indiana's approach to teacher evaluations is too soft Indiana's system for evaluating how well its 55,000 public school teachers are doing their jobs smacks of absurdity on multiple levels. Absurdity No. 1: The ratings released by the Indiana Department of Education this month are clearly inflated. Abou

    April 25, 2014

  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Obama Tours Gyeongbok Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Back in Competition Raw: Obama Lays Korean War Memorial Wreath Obama Leads Naturalization Ceremony in Seoul Calif. School Bus Crash Hurts Driver, 11 Kids Country Club for Exotic Cars Little Science Behind 'Pollen Vortex' Prediction US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll