Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

February 9, 2013

Cheers & Jeers - Saturday, Feb. 9, 2013

Working together to make a difference

Debera Smith and Mary Wilburn of Pals for Paws send this Cheer for the community:

“Pals for Paws would like to thank Howard County residents for their support this past year. The volunteers and ‘furkids’ appreciate the donated items and funds to help with expenses.

“Without your support we could not do what we do, as it truly takes a village to save the homeless. We thank those who have utilized our community grants to spay and neuter their ‘furkids,’ as this is the only way to improve the overpopulation problem in the future.

“Thank you for voting us ‘Best Do-Gooder.’

“Pals for Paws, a not-for-profit organization, has assisted Howard County for 13 years and has re-homed approximately 13,000 dogs. The organization is 100 percent volunteer, which enables it to direct all donations and adoption fees toward the care of animals.

“Pals for Paws receives a majority of its pets from the streets of Howard County, as well as owner releases. However, some are also rescued from ‘death row’ in high-kill shelters. These animals are socialized, house-trained and given proper medical care. But most importantly, they are spayed or neutered in an attempt to solve the overpopulation problem in the future. We are committed to solving the dog and cat overpopulation crisis in Kokomo and surrounding areas.

“Pals is accomplishing this goal through education and grants to assist with low-cost spaying and neutering procedures. The ‘big fix’ is working today to prevent tomorrow’s unwanted litters from being born.

“Pals for Paws received $70,000 in grants this year to spay and neuter family pets in the area. In 2012, we were able to fix 225 cats and 700 dogs in our community.

“Again, thank you very much for all your donations and support. Working together we can make a difference.”

Thoughtless could learn from veterans

Linda Bacon of Kokomo sends a Cheer and Jeer:

“I just wanted to thank the VFW of Kokomo for yet another successful and delicious fish fry last Saturday.

“For those of you who are not members, these VFW events are open to the public. The money they make from these fish fries go to the VFW men’s auxiliary.

“Great job. Support our veterans.”

JEER

“I would like to thank all those motorists who have been using our road now, due to the new bypass going in. Going out in the yard every day and picking up your trash has made life so much nicer.

“I am shocked over how many thoughtless people are still out there.”

About Tipton’s Bruce Gunn

Denny M. Altherr of Tipton sends this tribune to the late Bruce Gunn:

“Back in October 1983, I was a teen reporter for the Kokomo Tribune. The first article I did was on a very special individual, whom I’d known most of my life. His name was Bruce Gunn.

“At the time, he was 16-years-old. I wrote about the struggles he faced day to day, having to live with a terrible skin disease known as epidermoly bullose. The slightest touch from someone or something would cause bruises or the skin to tear. People with this particular type of skin disease have a greater risk of developing cancer. The type that Bruce had was severe. You really had to be careful if you were around him.

“And now, 29 years later, I am writing about him once again. This is my tribute to him. Bruce A. Gunn, 46, succumbed to this terrible disease on Saturday, Jan. 26, 2013. It is amazing how long he lived. When he was first born, his parents were told he would not live past the age of 5. But if you ever met this kind, gentle, loving soul, you could tell right away he had a lot of gumption. And it showed. There was nothing that would stop Bruce from doing what he wanted to do in life. Once he set his mind on doing something, he usually got it done … one way or another. He developed the attitude of ‘CAN DO!’ instead of ‘can not.’

“He was the only one in his family who suffered from this debilitating disease. His older brothers, Bryan and Bryce, as well as his twin sister, Betsey, were not afflicted in any way. His family loved him and cared for him, but as I said, Bruce had the attitude that he wanted to do things for himself.

“I recall when he wanted to learn to drive, his parents were hesitant at first, feeling that he could not handle a task such as this. But in the end, he proved everyone wrong — and he got his license and was driving. Of course, his vehicle had to be specially equipped for him to be able to steer and use the brake and accelerator. Once that was done, he was on the road, and he went everywhere! It was the beginning of his independence, which he wanted so badly. Habitat for Humanity of Tipton County constructed a house for Bruce, and he was actually living on his own and did quite well, from what I understand. He also gained employment, working at Janus Developmental Services in Noblesville as a computer data entry technician for nine years, retiring in 2007.

“Like I said, Bruce NEVER let his disease get in the way of him enjoying life to its fullest. He even attended a camp for people like he who suffered from some sort of skin disease. It is called Camp Discovery in Crosslake, Minn. He was even one of the camp counselors. I was told he really enjoyed attending there.

“But as with anyone with a severe disease, time takes its toll on a body, and that is what happened with Bruce. And I feel he knew the time was near. I went to see him not long before he passed away, and he looked very peaceful and had a look about him that I have never seen before. It was as if he knew his journey was coming to a close. And, two weeks later, it had.

“Bruce was an amazing human being, one whom I shall not soon forget. I only wish I had one-tenth of his willpower and strength to be as tough as he was. I will forever miss him, and I will remember him fondly. He was definitely one of a kind — a TRUE inspiration. Rest in peace, my dear friend.”

For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Kokomo Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership' On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than

    April 16, 2014

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll