Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 3, 2013

HAYDEN: Indiana GOP's feud about to go national

Cheney visit will put spotlight on HJR-6

Oh, it’s on.

If there was any doubt the coming fight over the same-sex marriage ban amendment in Indiana was going to be elevated to the national level, it’s gone.

Last week, Mary Cheney, the gay daughter of former Vice President Dick Cheney, announced her opposition to the proposed amendment, House Joint Resolution 6, along with her plans to come to Indiana to raise money for HJR-6 opponent, Freedom Indiana.

It immediately caught the attention of the national media, who’ve been reporting on the very public split between Mary Cheney and her U.S. Senate candidate sister, Liz.

“Freedom means freedom for everyone,” Mary Cheney wrote in her email to Freedom Indiana supporters. “For me, that’s not just another saying. It’s who I am — the core of what I believe. No one should be denied the fundamental liberties we all deserve.”

The “freedom for everyone” line echoed a remark made by sister Liz in 2009, regarding gay marriage, when she said “freedom means freedom for everybody.”

That was before Liz Cheney decided to launch a Senate campaign in Wyoming. Now, in her attempt to knock off a Republican incumbent in the primary, Liz Cheney has become vocal in her opposition to gay marriage.

Mary Cheney invoked family in her email: “Speaking out against HJR-6 isn’t a matter of politics. It’s about family,” she wrote. “It’s about everyone feeling welcome in the state they call home.”

The involvement of Mary Cheney, who identifies herself as a conservative Republican, is ramping up attention to an issue GOP leaders who control the Indiana Legislature have been working hard to minimize.

During a recent legislative preview, House Speaker Brian Bosma was disdainful of what he sees as the media’s obsession with HJR-6.

“This is not the most important issue for us by far,” Bosma said of the measure that would lock Indiana’s current ban on same-sex marriage into the state constitution. “It will receive 95 percent of the coverage, and it will take 5 percent of the attention of the General Assembly.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll