Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 5, 2013

House of Burgess: (Bloody) Black (and blue) Friday

Shopping bleeds into Thanksgiving, literally.

(Continued)

Not even armed public safety officials were exempt from injury anymore. “Police officers descended on Walmart in Rialto, Calif. after a brawl between two men injured a police officer who tried to break up the fight Thursday night,” reported Doug Saunders of the San Bernadino County Sun Nov. 28. “The injured officer was transported to St. Bernardine Medical Center in San Bernardino with a broken wrist.” Another cop in Romeoville, Ill., got it even worse the same night. “The commotion began about 10 p.m. [Nov. 28] when police were alerted to a theft in progress at [Kohl’s],” reported Adam Sege and Juan Perez, Jr. in the Chicago Tribune Friday. “The police officers waited outside the store and soon saw two men bringing a shopping cart out of the store toward [a black Pontiac Sunfire]. … An officer caught up with [them] but the suspect ‘closed the car door on the officer’s arm, not allowing the officer to disengage from the vehicle. ... The driver then drove away, dragging the officer with the vehicle.’”

Any further lingering doubts about whether the free market has a conscience should have been answered by the state of Black Friday in 2013. Gigantic companies have invented an increasingly punishing capitalistic gauntlet pitting family traditions against pure greed.

The Christmas shopping season feels more like the Hunger Games than ever before. (Make sure you wipe the blood from that off-brand tablet before you wrap it!)

And the saddest part? This cultural degradation hasn’t even produced fiscal results. “A record 141 million people are expected to shop in stores and online over the four-day Thanksgiving …up from last year’s 137 million, according to the results of a survey of nearly 4,500 shoppers conducted for The National Retail Federation,” reported the AP Sunday. “But total spending is expected to fall for the first time ever since the trade group began tracking it in 2006, according to the survey that was released Sunday. Over the four days, spending fell an estimated 2.9 percent to $57.4 billion.” If you’re going to sell what little soul you have, corporate America, the least you could do is get a decent price.

Rob Burgess, Tribune night editor, may be reached by calling 765-454-8577, via email at rob.burgess@kokomotribune.com or on Twitter at www.twitter.com/robaburg.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll