Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 29, 2013

June 29, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Wishing firefighters a speedy recovery

Center Township Trustee Jean Lushin sends this Cheer for our local firefighters:

”I would like to acknowledge the excellent work and contributions our local firefighters make to this community, especially the two firefighters who were recently injured in the performance of their official duties

”Ryan Smalley and Aaron Ashburn, at one time or another, served on one or more of Center Township’s firefighting apparatus. They were both injured while fighting a local house fire.

”I for one would like to express my gratitude and appreciation for their service and wish them a very speedy recovery. Thank you, Ryan and Aaron! Center Township appreciates your work and dedication.”

Thanks, Senior Fling sponsors

Lisa Wagner, chairperson of the Eastern High School Senior Fling this year, sends this Cheer for the community:

”On behalf of the Eastern High School 2013 Senior Fling, I would like to thank Dr. Tracy Caddell and the Eastern Howard School Board for allowing the after-graduation party for our seniors.

”I would also like to thank the parents who helped by chaperoning, setting up and cleaning up. Thank you to the community for your donations and support of our students. It would not have been a success without all of your help.

”The school is fortunate to have such an involved and supportive community.

”I would like to thank the following businesses for their donations of cash, prizes or food for our event: All in Good Taste Catering; Norris Insurance; Lions Club; Circle Pizza; K’s-a-dilla; Herbst Pharmacy; Kim Harden Massage Therapy; Forever Young; Nicole Downing, 31 consultant; Shawn Rosa Photography; Lori Haalck hair design; Blondie’s Cookies; Price’s Auto Sales; Century Villa Health Care; First Farmers Bank and Trust; Jerome Christian Church; Hulce Supermarket; Flook’s NAPA Store; Harvey Construction; Greentown Equipment; Shrock’s Dri-Gas; Pizza King; High Performance Alloys; Terrell’s Automotive Service; Martin Brothers; Mike’s Car Wash; Bowden Flowers; Humphrey Printing; Kokomo Glass; McGonigal’s; Today’s Nails; Merle Norman Cosmetics; Eriks Chevrolet; Dan’s Variety Bakery; Chris Williams State Farm Agency; Indiana Wesleyan; Culligan Water; Solidarity Credit Union; Wendy’s; Planet Fitness; BW3’s; Applebee’s; Vickers Graphics; ADI; Lightning Express; Master Creations; Cone & Daughters Lawn Care; Brandy Welcher, Origami Owl consultant; Jessica Cantlon, 31 consultant.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll