Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 14, 2013

MARK HEINIG: Class of '63 - reflections on a half-century legacy

Our kids must accept responsibility for their education.

I recently went home to Terre Haute for my 50-year class reunion (Schulte High School Class of 1963). It was a bitter-sweet experience. We enjoyed renewing old friendships, catching up on each other’s lives and reminiscing about days long past. We missed absent classmates, both those still living and those who already have been called home.

As a retired educator, I couldn’t resist comparing us with today’s high school students.

The Class of 1963 didn’t take as many standardized tests as the Class of 2014 has, but those we did take meant something. Most Hoosier school corporations relied on the Iowa Test of Basic Skills.

Schools only used the Iowa test results for their intended purpose: to measure students’ academic progress objectively. They didn’t affect the income and performance evaluations of teachers or schools, as the ISTEP tests do. Few teachers agree with the shift of emphasis from teaching to testing. Most would say the tests have become more important than the learning they’re designed to evaluate.

Teachers complain about lost instructional time. They need more time to teach and less time in meetings about ISTEP scores, accountability and professional development. Loss of instructional time is not new. It was frustrating good teachers when I began teaching in 1968.

Many school corporations use substitute teachers to cover the regular teacher’s time out of class. I was never a substitute, but I hired many of them. A sub as effective as the regular teacher is harder to find than the winning ticket for a huge Powerball jackpot. The teachers of the Class of 1963 avoided “teaching to the test.” How can a teacher or a school do that now when the stakes are so high?

Meetings aren’t the only source of wasted time. Teachers often have non-teaching duties in the classroom. My first department head gave me an article entitled “Stop trying to learn while I’m counting the lunch money!” Although we don’t usually do that now, interruptions continue to impede the teaching-learning process. Time in class does not equal time on task!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll