Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 14, 2013

MARK HEINIG: Class of '63 - reflections on a half-century legacy

Our kids must accept responsibility for their education.

(Continued)

Columnist Maureen Hayden described the lackluster performance of Americans on assessments by the International Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. One hundred sixty thousand people from industrialized nations participated in the assessments. Five thousand were Americans. If we compare our results to the other industrialized countries, we stink!

However, I don’t recommend dashing out to buy stronger air fresheners and deodorants. The participants in this study were very few compared to our global population of more than 7 billion. Even the 5,000 Americans were a tiny segment in our population of almost 317 million.

The nations with the highest ratings, Finland, Poland and South Korea, have much smaller populations and very different cultures than ours. We should study their schools to identify potential improvements. Nevertheless, what works there may not work here. Maybe we should stop worrying about other countries and develop our own reforms.

People in other countries are neither more nor less intelligent than we are. That is indisputable. Statistically, similar studies should yield similar results. Unfortunately, we could discuss those results from now until Judgment Day without agreement. Kind of like Congress, isn’t it?

We squander money on assessments, surveys, ability tests and achievement tests to discover what’s wrong with education, but they don’t tell us how to fix it. Fortunately we already know that! The fix won’t be easy, and it certainly won’t be popular. We must teach our kids to accept their responsibility to learn. Permitting children to have their own way most of the time leads to disaster at school and at home. Unfortunately, some parents and teachers tolerate misbehavior instead of changing it.

I have never visited Finland, Poland or South Korea, but I have spent considerable time in German schools. German students usually accept their share of the responsibility to learn. The size of the share depends on their age and ability. In secondary schools German kids have more freedom and less supervision than their American counterparts. There are no study halls, shorter school days and a lot more homework.

We members of the Class of 1963 were among the first baby boomers. Every generation has a duty to pass its knowledge and skills to the next one. Because we are so many, boomers have acquired more new knowledge than prior generations. Hopefully, we have shared it well with those who follow us.

Mark Heinig Jr. of Kokomo is a retired Indiana principal and teacher. Contact him at markjr1708@gmail.com.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • 'Reads' panel narrows titles Howard County Reads, a program introduced in 2004 to cultivate a love of reading and promote a sense of community, is another step closer to selecting a book for its 10th anniversary.In February, county residents began nominating a favorite for consi

    August 1, 2014

  • LETTERS: Concert Series 'beautiful musical experience' Store employees should split prizeSeveral weeks ago, a winning lottery ticket was purchased at one of our larger grocery stores. What I’d like to know is why the upper-management get a large cash prize (which they don’t need) while the employees of t

    August 1, 2014

  • Work program requires buy-in from industry Good help is hard to find.That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers.

    August 1, 2014

  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll