Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 22, 2010

Get involved with ‘Reads’

THE ISSUE: The Howard County Reads program.

OUR VIEW: Vote for this year’s book selection online at howardcountyreads.org, or fill out a nomination form at any library in the county.

Candidate endorsements fill our in-box each day, as Election Day approaches. Yet there’s another vote under way you shouldn’t miss.

And Howard County Reads is waiting to hear from you.

The program was introduced in 2004. Its goal: To cultivate a love of reading and to promote a sense of community.

Planners from the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library and Greentown Public Library have taken community-building a step farther this year.

Between March 7 and July 31, county residents – as in previous years – nominated a personal favorite for consideration as this year’s Howard County Reads selection. Forty-seven books were nominated.

A committee of residents and library staff winnowed the nominated titles to a “top 10.” They are “Half Broke Horses,” by Jeanette Walls; “Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins; “People of the Book,” by Geraldine Brooks; “Same Kind of Different as Me,” by Ron Hall; “Sarah’s Key,” by Tatiana De Rosnay; “Stitches: A Memoir,” by David Small; “The Good Soldiers,” by David Finkel; “The Guernsey Literacy and Potato Peel Pie Society,” by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows; “The Secret Life of Bees,” by Sue Monk Kidd, and “To Kill a Mockingbird,” by Harper Lee.

Residents have until Oct. 31 to vote for one of the 10 books they want to read as the Howard County Reads selection. The winning title will be announced Nov. 11.

Both libraries have made it easy to participate. To vote for a title among this year’s top 10, you can do it online at howardcountyreads.org, or fill out a nomination form at any library in the county.

The most important part of Howard County Reads, however, is to get involved in this community activity. You can join one of the program’s book discussion groups, or form your own among friends and co-workers.

Howard County Reads will even provide your group a discussion leader.

If you want to host a book discussion, let organizers know by calling 765-454-4710 or e-mailing read@howardcountyreads.org.

We believe this will be the best year yet for the program.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Kangaroo Rescued From Swimming Pool Raw: 3 American Doctors Killed in Afghanistan Raw: Obama Arrives at State Dinner in Tokyo Raw: Obama Plays Soccer With Japanese Robot Raw: Obama Visits Meiji Shrine in Tokyo Stars Talk Guns N' Roses at Golden Gods New Pictures of Ship That Sank in 1888 Oregon Gay Marriage Ban Goes to Court SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye'
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll